Regional development agencies and the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Bill - Business and Enterprise Committee Contents


Schedule 1 of the Regional Development Agencies Act 1998 sets out the boundaries for the nine English RDAs:

    East Midlands

      The counties of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire. The non-metropolitan districts of Derby, Leicester, Nottingham and Rutland.


      The counties of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk. The non-metropolitan districts of Luton, Peterborough, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock.


      Greater London.

    North East

      The counties of Durham and Northumberland. The metropolitan districts of Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland. The non-metropolitan districts of Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees.

    North West

      The counties of Cheshire, Cumbria and Lancashire. The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury, Knowsley, Liverpool, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, St. Helens, Salford, Sefton, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan and Wirral. The non-metropolitan districts of Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Halton and Warrington.

    South East

      The counties of Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey and West Sussex. The non-metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Brighton and Hove, the Medway Towns, Milton Keynes, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead and Wokingham.

    South West

      The counties of Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire. The non-metropolitan districts of Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Bristol, North Somerset, Plymouth, Poole, South Gloucestershire, Swindon and Torbay. The Isles of Scilly.

    West Midlands

      The counties of Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire. The metropolitan districts of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton. The non-metropolitan districts of Herefordshire, Stoke-on-Trent and Telford and Wrekin.

    Yorkshire and the Humber

      The county of North Yorkshire. The metropolitan districts of Barnsley, Bradford, Calderdale, Doncaster, Kirklees, Leeds, Rotherham, Sheffield and Wakefield. The non-metropolitan districts of the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire and York.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 13 March 2009