Market Failure?: Can the traditional market survive? - Communities and Local Government Committee Contents

Communities and Local Government Committee

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government and its associated bodies.

Current membership

Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West) (Chair)

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield Attercliffe)

John Cummings MP (Labour, Easington)

Andrew George MP (Liberal Democrat, St Ives)

Mr Greg Hands MP (Conservative, Hammersmith and Fulham)

Anne Main MP (Conservative, St Albans)

Dr John Pugh MP (Liberal Democrat, Southport)

Emily Thornberry MP (Labour, Islington South and Finsbury)

Mr Neil Turner MP (Labour, Wigan)

David Wright MP (Labour, Telford)

The following members were also members of the Committee during this inquiry:

Jim Dobbin MP (Labour Co-op, Heywood and Middleton)

Mr Bill Olner MP (Labour, Nuneaton)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Huw Yardley (Clerk of the Committee), Andrew Griffiths (Second Clerk), Josephine Willows (Inquiry Manager), Emma Gordon (Committee Specialist), Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant), Nicola McCoy (Committee Assistant), Stewart McIlvenna (Committee Support Assistant), and Hannah Pearce (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Communities and Local Government Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1353; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 23 July 2009