Ministry of Defence Annual Report and Accounts 2007-08 - Defence Committee Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (Chairman)

Mr David S Borrow MP (Labour, South Ribble)

Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)

Linda Gilroy MP (Labour, Plymouth Sutton)

Mr David Hamilton MP (Labour, Midlothian)

Mr Mike Hancock MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Mr Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, North Essex)

Mr Brian Jenkins MP (Labour, Tamworth)

Robert Key MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

Mrs Madeleine Moon (Labour, Bridgend)

John Smith MP (Labour, Vale of Glamorgan)

Richard Younger-Ross MP (Liberal Democrat, Teignbridge)

The following Members were also Members of the Committee during the Parliament.

Mr Colin Breed MP (Liberal Democrat, South East Cornwall)

Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, Durham North)

Mr Mark Lancaster MP (Conservative, North East Milton Keynes)

Willie Rennie MP (Liberal Democrat, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Mr Desmond Swayne MP (Conservative, New Forest West)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mike Hennessy (Clerk), Richard Ward (Second Clerk), Karen Jackson (Audit Adviser), Sara Turnbull (Inquiry Manager), Richard Dawson (Senior Committee Assistant), Christine McGrane (Committee Assistant) and Miguel Boo Fraga (Committee Support Assistant).

Previous Committee staff during the inquiry: Ian Rogers (Audit Adviser) and Lis McCracken (Inquiry Manager)


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 30 March 2009