Students and Universities - Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee Contents

Annex E



  A number of Russell Group universities offer accredited teaching awards for their staff, including:

    — the University of Liverpool's Certificate in Professional Studies, Postgraduate Certificate and Postgraduate Diploma in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education; — the Newcastle University Teaching Award and Certificate in Advance Studies in Academic Practice; — the University of Oxford's Postgraduate Diplomas in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education;

    — the Postgraduate Certificate in Higher Education Teaching at Queen's University Belfast

Staff Development

  A variety of development opportunities for staff with teaching responsibilities exist in Russell Group universities. General training courses for staff include:

    — the University of Bristol's "Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" course;

    — the University of Newcastle Upon Tyne's introductory course to teaching and learning in higher education;

    — the University of Oxford's "Preparing for Learning and Teaching" and "Developing Learning and Teaching courses";

  Several Russell Group universities have dedicated staff support programmes or units to support development, including:

    — the University of Cambridge's Staff Development Programme;

    — the University of Glasgow's Learning and Teaching Centre;

    — the University of Nottingham's Institute for Research into Learning and Teaching in Higher Education and the Staff and Educational Development Unit;

    — University College London's Centre for Advancement of Learning and Teaching.

  Some Russell Group universities also offer awards for excellence in teaching. For example, the Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence (WATE) are awarded at the university's degree congregation to excellent teachers, with a special award for early career teachers. The awards are judged by a joint staff-student panel, and student nominations are specifically invited.

Postgraduate/Postdoctoral research staff

  Additionally, a number of Russell Group universities have developed specific development or training programmes for their postgraduate or postdoctoral research staff. These include:

    — The University of Birmingham's module in learning and teaching for postgraduate students or in teaching skills for research staff;

    — Imperial College London's research skills development course or scheme to provide teaching opportunities for postdoctoral research staff;

    — specific training provided by the University of Liverpool for postgraduate research students who have teaching responsibilities;

    — the University of Warwick's introduction to academic practice specifically for pre- and post-doctoral students.

Academic Practice

    — Russell Group universities are keen to ensure the dissemination of good academic practice and offer courses such as the University of Birmingham's "Mentoring for Academics" course or the University of Oxford's "Developing Academic Practice" course.— Reflecting the importance placed on enquiry-based learning in Russell Group universities, a number of institutions offer specific staff training courses on this issue, including the University of Birmingham's "Independent Learning in a Research-intensive Environment" and "Problem and Enquiry-based Learning" courses

    — The University of Oxford Learning Institute hosts the HEFCE-funded Centre for Excellence in Preparing for Academic Practice, which supports postgraduate research students and postdoctoral researchers who wish to develop academic careers, focusing on three essential elements of academic practice: inquiry through research and scholarship; teaching (in particular developing support for postgraduate research students and contract research staff who wish to teach); and service to the profession, institution and academic community. The Centre conducts and promotes research into academic practice and disseminates best practice throughout the University and the broader higher education community. The University has also convened a Preparation for Academic Practice Network with six other research-intensive institutions: the University of Cambridge, the London School of Economics, Imperial College London, King's College London, the University of Edinburgh and the University of Warwick.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 2 August 2009