The Export Credits Guarantee Department and Sustainable Development - Environmental Audit Committee Contents

The Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Mr Tim Yeo, MP (Conservative, South Suffolk) (Chairman)

Gregory Barker, MP (Conservative, Bexhill and Battle)

Mr Martin Caton, MP (Labour, Gower)

Mr Colin Challen, MP (Labour, Morley and Rothwell)

Mr David Chaytor, MP (Labour, Bury North)

Martin Horwood, MP (Liberal Democrat, Cheltenham)

Mr Nick Hurd, MP (Conservative, Ruislip Northwood)

Jane Kennedy, MP (Labour, Liverpool Wavertree) [ex-officio]

Mark Lazarowicz, MP (Labour/Co-operative, Edinburgh North and Leith)

Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger, MP (Conservative, Bridgewater)

Mr Shahid Malik, MP (Labour, Dewsbury)

Mrs Linda Riordan, MP (Labour, Halifax)

Mr Graham Stuart, MP (Conservative, Beverley & Holderness)

Jo Swinson, MP (Liberal Democrat, East Dunbartonshire)

Dr Desmond Turner, MP (Labour, Brighton, Kempton)

Joan Walley, MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally Standing Order No. 152A. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

A list of Reports of the Committee from the current Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Gordon Clarke (Clerk); Anne-Marie Griffiths (Second Clerk); Richard Douglas (Committee Specialist); Oliver Bennett (Committee Specialist); Susan Monaghan (Senior Committee Assistant); Jennifer Steele (Committee Assistant); and Charlotte Towerton (Sandwich Student)


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk, Environmental Audit Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6150; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 5 March 2009