Rebuilding the House - House of Commons Reform Committee Contents

Select Committee on Reform of the House of Commons

The Select Committee on Reform of the House of Commons was appointed by the House of Commons on 20 July 2009 to consider and report by 13 November 2009 on four specified matters:

  • the appointment of members and chairmen of select committees;
  • the appointment of the Chairman and Deputy Chairmen of Ways and Means;
  • scheduling business in the House;
  • enabling the public to initiate debates and proceedings in the House and closely connected matters.

The Committee, which lasts until the end of the Parliament, may also consider other matters referred to it by the House.

Current membership
Dr Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase) (Chairman)
Mr Graham Allen MP (Labour, Nottingham North)
Mr Peter Atkinson MP (Conservative, Hexham)
Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield, Attercliffe)
Mr Graham Brady MP (Labour, Altrincham & Sale West)
Mr David Clelland MP (Labour, Tyne Bridge)
Mr David Drew MP (Labour Co-op, Stroud)
Natascha Engel MP (Labour, North East Derbyshire)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrats, Oxford West and Abingdon)
David Howarth MP (Liberal Democrats, Cambridge)
Rt Hon Michael Jack MP (Conservative, Fylde)
Rt Hon Greg Knight MP (Conservative, East Yorkshire)
Mr Elfyn Llwyd MP (Plaid Cymru, Meirionnydd Nant Conwy)
Mr Chris Mullin MP (Labour, Sunderland South)
Dr Nick Palmer MP (Labour, Broxtowe)
Martin Salter MP (Labour, Reading West)
Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West)
Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament.
Sir George Young MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are David Natzler (Clerk), Lucinda Maer (Senior Research Clerk) and Rowena Macdonald (Committee Assistant).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the House of Commons Reform Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3255; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 24 November 2009