Cross-border provision of public services for Wales:further and higher education - Welsh Affairs Committee Contents

The Welsh Affairs Committee

The Welsh Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Office of the Secretary of State for Wales (including relations with the National Assembly for Wales).

Current membership

Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon) (Chairman)

Mr David T.C. Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Ms Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)

Mrs Siân C. James MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Mr David Jones MP (Conservative, Clwyd West)

Mr Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)

Rt Hon Alun Michael MP (Labour and Co-operative, Cardiff South and Penarth)

Mr Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)

Mr Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative, The Wrekin)

Mr Mark Williams MP (Liberal Democrat, Ceredigion)

Mr Hywel Williams MP (Plaid Cymru, Caernarfon)


The committee is one of the Departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee is Dr Sue Griffiths (Clerk), Judy Goodall (Inquiry Manager), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Annabel Goddard (Committee Assistant), Jim Lawford (Committee Support Assistant) and Rebecca Jones (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Welsh Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6189 and the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 16 January 2009