House of Commons
Session 2008 - 09
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin
Weekly Information Bulletin: 23rd May 2009

General Committees

General Committee debates are available to view on the Parliament website.

Public Bill Committee debates.

Other General Committee debates.

For further information on General Committees see HCIO Factsheet L6 produced by the House of Commons Information Office, available in hardcopy on request or to download from the Parliament website.

Current Public Bill Committees, details of membership


Status Membership
Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Bill (G) Reported Issue 9
Autism Bill (B1) Reported Issue 15
Business Rate Supplements Bill (G) Reported Issue 4
Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies and Credit Unions Bill (B6) tba This issue
Coroners and Justice Bill (G) Reported Issue 6
Damages (Asbestos-Related Conditions) Bill (P) tba tba
Driving Instruction (Suspension and Exemption Powers)
Bill (P)
tba tba
Equality Bill (G) 7.7.2009 Issue 18; This issue
Finance Bill (G) tba Issue 18; This issue
Green Energy (Definition and Promotion) Bill (B7) tba tba
Holocaust (Stolen Art) Restitution Bill (P) tba This issue
Policing and Crime Bill (G) Reported Issue 5
Saving Gateway Accounts Bill (G) Reported Issue 5
Statutory Redundancy Pay (Amendment) Bill (B3) tba This issue
Welfare Reform Bill (G) Reported Issue 6
Joint Committee on Tax law Rewrite Bills

Corporation Tax Bill (G) Reported Issue 4

Dates in italics denote expected reporting date of Public Bill Committee as stated in the Programme Motion if made


Equality Bill (G)

Mr Oliver Heald discharged and John Howell added.

Finance Bill (G)

Additional Chairman: Sir Nicholas Winterton

Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies and Credit Unions Bill (B6)

Mr Brian Binley Mr Tim Boswell Mr Colin Breed Ann Coffey
Linda Gilroy Mr Mark Hoban Mark Lazarowicz David Lepper
Alun Michael Meg Munn Dr Nick Palmer Ian Pearson
Mark Pritchard Dr John Pugh Malcolm Wicks Sir Nicholas Winterton

Holocaust (Stolen Art) Restitution Bill (P)

John Bercow Ms Karen Buck Mary Creagh Mr Andrew Dismore
Mrs Louise Ellman Barbara Follett Mr Don Foster Mr Fabian Hamilton
Siobhain McDonagh John Mann Lembit Öpik Mark Pritchard
Mr Lee Scott Mr Virendra Sharma Mr Edward Vaizey Mr John Whittingdale

Statutory Redundancy Pay (Amendment) Bill (B3)

John Bercow Peter Bottomley Mr Russell Brown Lorely Burt
Mr David Crausby Jon Cruddas Jim Dobbin Mr David Drew
Mr Nigel Evans Mr Lindsay Hoyle Mr Paul Keetch Tony Lloyd
Mr Pat McFadden Andrew Miller Mr Andrew Pelling Mike Penning

General Committee Meetings
18 - 22 May 2009

Monday 18 May

1st DLC     Draft Carbon Accounting Regulations 2009, Draft Carbon Budgets Order 2009 and the Draft Climate     
     Change Act 2008 (2020 Target, Credit Limit and Definitions) Order 2009.     

Tuesday 19 May

PBC     Finance Bill (1st & 2nd sittings; Clauses 1, 2, 4, 5 & Schedule 1 agreed; Clauses 3 agreed on division)     
2nd DLC     Draft Legal Services Act 2007 (Registered European Lawyers) Order 2009 and the Draft Registered     

Foreign Lawyers Order 2009.

3rd DLC     Draft Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (Establishment of Conservation Board)     

(Amendment) Order 2009 and the Draft Cotswolds Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (Establishment

of Conservation Board) (Amendment) Order 2009.

EC B     EU Document No. 16162/08 relating to Free Movement of EU Workers.     

Wednesday 20 May


Thursday 21 May

PBC     Finance Bill (3rd & 4th sittings; Clauses 6, 10, 12, 13 & 5 & Schedules 2-4 agreed)     

Friday 22 May


Forthcoming General Committee Meetings
1 - 5 June 2009

Monday 1 June


Tuesday 2 June

PBC     Finance Bill, 10.30am & 4.30pm, Room 10     
PBC     Equality Bill, 10.30am & 4.00pm, The Grimond Room, Portcullis House     

Wednesday 3 June


Thursday 4 June


Friday 5 June


Please note. This list is correct as at press (12 noon Friday).

The time and location of general committee meetings may be changed at short notice.

Further enquiries may be made to the Committee Office general enquiry lines, Tel. 020 7219 3267/4300/0284

House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page Contents Search Enquiries Order Index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 23 May 2009