House of Commons
Session 2008 - 09
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin
Weekly Information Bulletin: 17th October 2009

Noticeboard

Weekly Information Bulletin

The next Bulletin will be published on Saturday 24 October 2009

By-election

Chloe Smith (Con) was elected Member of Parliament for Norwich North, in a by-election on Thursday 23 July 2009.

Following the resignation of the Member for Glasgow North East, former Speaker, the Rt Hon Michael Martin, on 22 June 2009, there will be a by-election. Details to be announced.

Private Members' Bills:

The Leader of the House has announced that the following Fridays are allocated for the consideration of Private Members' Bills during the 2008/09 session:

2009: 27 February; 6, 13, 20 and 27 March; 24 April; 8 and 15 May; 12, 19 and 26 June; 3 July and 16 October

Party Conferences 2009

Labour Party Conference was held in Brighton on 27 September - 1 October 2009

Conservative Party Conference was held in Manchester on 5 - 8 October 2009

Liberal Democrat Party Conference was held in Bournemouth on 19 - 23 September 2009

House of Commons Calendar for the 2008/2009 session:

The Leader of the House announced the following recess dates for the 2008/2009 session:

Christmas recess 2008

The House rose on Thursday 18 December 2008 and returned on Monday 12 January 2009

Spring half term recess 2009

The House rose on Thursday 12 February 2009 and returned on Monday 23 February 2009

April recess 2009

The House rose on Thursday 2 April 2009 and returned on Monday 20 April 2009

Whitsun recess 2009

The House rose on Thursday 21 May 2009 and returned on Monday 1 June 2009

Summer recess 2009

The House will rise on Tuesday 21 July 2009 and will return on Monday 12 October 2009

www.parliament.uk

The Parliament website provides information on parliamentary proceedings, membership of both Houses and general information on a wide range of parliamentary matters.

 
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page Contents Search Enquiries Order Index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 17 October 2009