Previous Section Index Home Page

4 Mar 2010 : Column 1090

Amendment proposed to motion 4: (p), after paragraph (1)(d), insert-

'( ) the Select Committee on Procedure.'. -(Mr. Chope.)

Question put, That the amendment be made.

A Division was called.

Mr. Speaker: Division off.

Question agreed to .

Mr. Speaker: As I have announced to the House, the Division is off. I think that there was some confusion, although there should not really have been any. It was very clear in my mind, and I hope in some other people's minds, that it was the first amendment in the list that was being moved. Nevertheless, there was a level of confusion, but it does not matter, as it has been overcome and the Noes withdrew.

I would like to ask the hon. Member for Christchurch (Mr. Chope) to move amendment (o) formally.

Amendment proposed to motion 4 : (o), after paragraph (4) insert-

'( ) If, on the expiry of two weeks after the Queen's Speech, no motion in the name of the leaders of all the parties entitled to one or more chairs of select committees subject to election under this Order specifying to which party each said chair is allocated has been tabled, on the following sitting day the Speaker shall give precedence to a motion tabled thereafter by any hon. Member to allocate chairs under this Order and the provisions of paragraphs 3 and 4 shall apply to proceedings on such a motion.'.- (Mr. Chope.)

Question put, That the amendment be made.

The House divided: Ayes 279, Noes 31.
Division No. 98]
[3.59 pm


Abbott, Ms Diane
Alexander, Danny
Amess, Mr. David
Arbuthnot, rh Mr. James
Atkins, Charlotte
Bacon, Mr. Richard
Bailey, Mr. Adrian
Bain, Mr. William
Baird, Vera
Baker, Norman
Baldry, Tony
Barlow, Ms Celia
Baron, Mr. John
Barrett, John
Battle, rh John
Bayley, Hugh

Begg, Miss Anne
Beith, rh Sir Alan
Benton, Mr. Joe
Benyon, Mr. Richard
Berry, Roger
Betts, Mr. Clive
Blackman-Woods, Dr. Roberta
Blunt, Mr. Crispin
Boswell, Mr. Tim
Bottomley, Peter
Bradshaw, rh Mr. Ben
Brady, Mr. Graham
Brake, Tom
Breed, Mr. Colin
Brennan, Kevin
Brokenshire, James
Brooke, Annette
Browne, Mr. Jeremy
Browning, Angela
Bruce, rh Malcolm
Bryant, Chris
Burden, Richard
Burrowes, Mr. David
Burstow, Mr. Paul
Burt, Alistair
Burt, Lorely
Butler, Ms Dawn
Cable, Dr. Vincent
Caborn, rh Mr. Richard
Campbell, rh Sir Menzies
Carmichael, Mr. Alistair
Carswell, Mr. Douglas
Cash, Mr. William
Caton, Mr. Martin
Cawsey, Mr. Ian
Chapman, Ben
Chope, Mr. Christopher
Clappison, Mr. James
Clark, Greg
Clark, Ms Katy
Clarke, rh Mr. Charles
Clarke, rh Mr. Kenneth
Clegg, rh Mr. Nick
Clelland, Mr. David
Clifton-Brown, Mr. Geoffrey
Clwyd, rh Ann
Coffey, Ann
Cohen, Harry
Connarty, Michael
Cook, Frank
Cooper, Rosie
Corbyn, Jeremy
Cousins, Jim
Cruddas, Jon
Cryer, Mrs. Ann
Cunningham, Mr. Jim
Curry, rh Mr. David
Davey, Mr. Edward
Davies, Mr. Dai
Davies, Philip
Dhanda, Mr. Parmjit
Dismore, Mr. Andrew
Drew, Mr. David
Duncan Smith, rh Mr. Iain
Dunne, Mr. Philip
Efford, Clive
Ellman, Mrs. Louise
Etherington, Bill
Evans, Mr. Nigel
Fabricant, Michael
Farrelly, Paul
Featherstone, Lynne
Field, rh Mr. Frank
Field, Mr. Mark
Fisher, Mark
Fitzpatrick, Jim
Flint, rh Caroline
Foster, Mr. Don
Francis, Dr. Hywel
Gale, Mr. Roger
Gapes, Mike
Gardiner, Barry
Garnier, Mr. Edward
Gauke, Mr. David
George, Andrew
Gidley, Sandra
Gilroy, Linda
Goodman, Mr. Paul
Goodwill, Mr. Robert
Gove, Michael
Green, Damian
Greenway, Mr. John
Grieve, Mr. Dominic
Grogan, Mr. John
Gummer, rh Mr. John
Hall, Patrick
Hamilton, Mr. David
Hammond, Mr. Philip
Hammond, Stephen
Hancock, Mr. Mike
Harper, Mr. Mark
Harris, Dr. Evan
Harvey, Nick
Heath, Mr. David
Heathcoat-Amory, rh Mr. David
Hemming, John
Hoey, Kate
Hogg, rh Mr. Douglas
Hollobone, Mr. Philip
Holmes, Paul
Hopkins, Kelvin
Horam, Mr. John
Horwood, Martin
Hosie, Stewart
Howarth, David
Howarth, rh Mr. George
Howell, John
Hughes, Simon
Hunter, Mark
Iddon, Dr. Brian
Illsley, Mr. Eric
Irranca-Davies, Huw
Jack, rh Mr. Michael
Jenkin, Mr. Bernard
Jenkins, Mr. Brian
Jones, Lynne
Jones, Mr. Martyn
Keen, Alan
Keetch, Mr. Paul
Kennedy, rh Mr. Charles
Key, Robert
Khan, rh Mr. Sadiq
Kirkbride, Miss Julie
Knight, rh Mr. Greg
Kramer, Susan
Ladyman, Dr. Stephen
Laing, Mrs. Eleanor
Lamb, Norman
Laxton, Mr. Bob
Lazarowicz, Mark
Leech, Mr. John
Leigh, Mr. Edward
Lepper, David

Letwin, rh Mr. Oliver
Levitt, Tom
Lewis, Dr. Julian
Lidington, Mr. David
Linton, Martin
Lloyd, Tony
Llwyd, Mr. Elfyn
Loughton, Tim
Love, Mr. Andrew
Luff, Peter
Mackinlay, Andrew
MacNeil, Mr. Angus
MacShane, rh Mr. Denis
Mactaggart, Fiona
Marsden, Mr. Gordon
Marshall-Andrews, Mr. Robert
Mason, John
Maude, rh Mr. Francis
May, rh Mrs. Theresa
McDonnell, John
McFall, rh John
McIsaac, Shona
McKechin, Ann
McLoughlin, rh Mr. Patrick
Meacher, rh Mr. Michael
Michael, rh Alun
Miller, Mrs. Maria
Mitchell, Mr. Andrew
Mitchell, Mr. Austin
Moffatt, Laura
Moore, Mr. Michael
Moss, Mr. Malcolm
Mulholland, Greg
Mullin, Mr. Chris
Munn, Meg
Murrison, Dr. Andrew
Naysmith, Dr. Doug
Newmark, Mr. Brooks
Oaten, Mr. Mark
Öpik, Lembit
Ottaway, Richard
Owen, Albert
Palmer, Dr. Nick
Pearson, Ian
Pelling, Mr. Andrew
Penrose, John
Plaskitt, Mr. James
Prentice, Mr. Gordon
Price, Adam
Primarolo, rh Dawn
Pritchard, Mark
Pugh, Dr. John
Purnell, rh James
Randall, Mr. John
Raynsford, rh Mr. Nick
Reed, Mr. Andy
Reed, Mr. Jamie
Reid, Mr. Alan
Rennie, Willie
Rifkind, rh Sir Malcolm
Robertson, Angus
Rogerson, Dan
Rosindell, Andrew
Rowen, Paul
Russell, Bob
Salter, Martin
Sanders, Mr. Adrian
Scott, Mr. Lee
Sharma, Mr. Virendra
Sheerman, Mr. Barry
Short, rh Clare
Smith, rh Mr. Andrew
Smith, Sir Robert
Snelgrove, Anne
Soames, Mr. Nicholas
Soulsby, Sir Peter
Steen, Mr. Anthony
Stoate, Dr. Howard
Straw, rh Mr. Jack
Stuart, Ms Gisela
Stunell, Andrew
Swayne, Mr. Desmond
Swinson, Jo
Taylor, Matthew
Taylor, Dr. Richard
Teather, Sarah
Thurso, John
Todd, Mr. Mark
Tredinnick, David
Trickett, Jon
Truswell, Mr. Paul
Turner, Mr. Andrew
Turner, Dr. Desmond
Twigg, Derek
Tyrie, Mr. Andrew
Vara, Mr. Shailesh
Villiers, Mrs. Theresa
Walker, Mr. Charles
Walley, Joan
Walter, Mr. Robert
Webb, Steve
Weir, Mr. Mike
Whitehead, Dr. Alan
Whittingdale, Mr. John
Wicks, rh Malcolm
Wiggin, Bill
Willetts, Mr. David
Williams, rh Mr. Alan
Williams, Hywel
Williams, Mark
Willis, Mr. Phil
Willott, Jenny
Wills, rh Mr. Michael
Winterton, Ann
Winterton, Sir Nicholas
Wishart, Pete
Wright, Dr. Tony
Wyatt, Derek
Young, rh Sir George
Younger-Ross, Richard
Tellers for the Ayes:

Mr. Peter Bone and
Mr. Brian Binley

Atkinson, Mr. Peter
Balls, rh Ed
Barron, rh Mr. Kevin
Beckett, rh Margaret
Blunkett, rh Mr. David
Coaker, Mr. Vernon
Dobson, rh Frank
Duddridge, James
Eagle, Angela
Eagle, Maria
Gerrard, Mr. Neil
Goodman, Helen
Greening, Justine
Hanson, rh Mr. David

Harman, rh Ms Harriet
Hillier, Meg
Howarth, Mr. Gerald
Jackson, Glenda
Keeley, Barbara
Kidney, Mr. David
McAvoy, rh Mr. Thomas
McCarthy, Kerry
McCarthy-Fry, Sarah
McIntosh, Miss Anne
Meale, Mr. Alan
Shaw, Jonathan
Skinner, Mr. Dennis
Strang, rh Dr. Gavin
Taylor, Ms Dari
Timms, rh Mr. Stephen
Wilson, Mr. Rob
Tellers for the Noes:

Helen Jones and
Lyn Brown
Question accordingly agreed to.
4 Mar 2010 : Column 1091

4 Mar 2010 : Column 1092

4 Mar 2010 : Column 1093

Amendment made to motion 4 : (q), after paragraph (7)(e) insert-

'( ) No member may be a candidate for the chair of the Committee of Public Accounts unless his party is that of the official Opposition.'.- (Mr. Leigh.)

Main Q uestion, as amended, put and agreed to.


4 Mar 2010 : Column 1094


Resolved ,

4 Mar 2010 : Column 1095

Next Section Index Home Page