Crown Dependencies - Justice Committee Contents

The Justice Committee

The Justice Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Justice and its associated public bodies (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments, and excluding the work of the Scotland and Wales Offices and of the Advocate General for Scotland); and administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chair)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, Lancashire West)

David Heath MP (Liberal Democrat, Somerton and Frome)

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Siân James MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Jessica Morden MP (Labour, Newport East)

Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)

Rt Hon Alun Michael MP (Labour and Co-operative, Cardiff South and Penarth)

Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)

Dr Nick Palmer MP (Labour, Broxtowe)

Linda Riordan MP (Labour and Co-operative, Halifax)

Andrew Turner MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton Test)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in
SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Fergus Reid (Clerk); Dr Sarah Thatcher (Second Clerk); Gemma Buckland (Committee Specialist); Hannah Stewart (Committee Legal Specialist); Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant); Sonia Draper (Committee Assistant); Henry Ayi-Hyde (Committee Support Assistant); and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Committee Media Officer).


Correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Justice Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196 and the email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 30 March 2010