The Omagh bombing: Government response - Northern Ireland Affairs Committee Contents

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Northern Ireland Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current membership

Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Conservative, South Staffordshire) (Chairman)

Mr David Anderson MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire)

Christopher Fraser MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk)

Mr John Grogan MP (Labour, Selby)

Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Labour, Jarrow)

Lady Hermon MP (Independent, North Down)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Dr Alasdair McDonnell MP (SDLP, Belfast South)

Mr Denis Murphy MP (Labour, Wansbeck)

Stephen Pound MP (Labour, Ealing North)

David Simpson MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Upper Bann)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Current Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are David Weir (Clerk), Alison Groves (Second Clerk), Emma McIntosh (Senior Committee Assistant), Becky Crew (Committee Assistant), Karen Watling (Committee Assistant), Becky Jones (Media Officer), and Mr Tes Stranger (Committee Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2173/1341; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 8 April 2010