House of Commons portcullis
House of Commons
Session 2009-10
Publications on the internet
Science and Technology  Committee Publications

Science and Technology  Committee - Minutes of Evidence [Back to Report]
The Regulation of Geoengineering

Here you can browse the Minutes of Evidence which were ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 10 March 2010.

Oral evidenceTaken before the Science and Technology Committee

(Science and Technology Sub-Committee) on

Wednesday 13 January 2010

Members present

Mr Phil Willis, in the Chair Dr Brian Iddon
Mr Tim BoswellGraham Stringer
Mr Ian Cawsey


Memorandum submitted by Dr Jason Blackstock (GEO 12)

Memorandum submitted by John Virgoe (GEO 05)

Witnesses: Dr Jason Blackstock, Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) Canada and research scholar at the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) Austria, Professor David Keith, Director, ISEEE Energy and Environmental Systems Group, University of Calgary, Canada, and John Virgoe, an expert in climate change policy, gave evidence via video link.

Question Numbers:


Witnesses: Sir David King, Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment and former Government Chief Scientific Adviser, and Dr Maarten van Aalst, Associate Director and Lead Climate Specialist at the Red Cross/Red Crescent Climate Centre, gave evidence.

Question Numbers:


Memorandum submitted by the Department of Energy and Climate Change (GEO 13)

Memorandum submitted by Research Councils UK (RCUK) (GEO 10)

Witnesses: Joan Ruddock MP, Minister of State, Department of Energy and Climate Change, Professor David MacKay, Chief Scientific Adviser to the Department of Energy and Climate Change, and professor of natural philosophy in the department of Physics at the University of Cambridge, and Professor Nick Pidgeon, on behalf of RCUK, gave evidence.

Question Numbers:


Supplementary memorandum submitted by the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) (GEO 13A)

Memorandum submitted by Dr James Lee (GEO 01)

Memorandum submitted by the British Geophysical Association (GEO 02)

Memorandum submitted by Alan Gadian (GEO 03)

Memorandum submitted by John Gorman (GEO 04)

Memorandum submitted by Dr Adam Corner (GEO 06)

Memorandum submitted by Tim Kruger (GEO 07)

Memorandum submitted by Tim Kruger et al (GEO 07a)

Memorandum submitted by the Sustainability Council of New Zealand (GEO 08)

Memorandum submitted by ETC Group (GEO 09)

Memorandum submitted by The Royal Society (GEO 11)

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 18 March 2010