20 May 2010 : Column 21

20 May 2010 : Column 21

House of Commons

Thursday 20 May 2010

The House met at half-past Ten o'clock


[Mr Speaker in the Chair]

Members Sworn

Mr Speaker: I remind the House that I will be in the Chair today until 12.30 pm and from 1.30 pm for as long as there are Members wishing to take the oath this afternoon. In view of the progress that we made yesterday, I do not think it will be necessary for me to come back at 4.30 pm. There will be further opportunities for Members to take the oath at 2.30 pm on Monday and at 2.15 pm on Tuesday. Will Members wishing to take their seats please come to the Table?

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by law:

Peter James Bottomley, for Worthing West

Richard Geoffrey James Ottaway, Croydon South

David Anthony Evennett, Bexleyheath and Crayford

Donald Michael Ellison Foster, Bath

Oliver Heald, North East Hertfordshire

Peter James Luff, Mid Worcestershire

Louise Joyce Ellman, Liverpool, Riverside

Vernon Rodney Coaker, Gedling

Andrew Edmund Armstrong Selous, South West Bedfordshire

Graham Charles Stuart, Beverley and Holderness

Anne Margaret Main, St Albans

Karl Turner, Kingston upon Hull East

Stephen William Hammond, Wimbledon

Eilidh Whiteford, Banff and Buchan

Sir Peter Alfred Soulsby, Leicester South

Penelope Mary Mordaunt, Portsmouth North

Andrew Russell Bingham, High Peak

Alexander Cunningham, Stockton North

Chinyelu Susan Onwurah, Newcastle upon Tyne Central

Heidi Alexander, Lewisham East

Yvonne Helen Fovargue, Makerfield

Right honourable Edward Michael Balls, Morley and Outwood

Gloria De Piero, Ashfield

Michael Vincent Dugher, Barnsley East

Jennifer Chapman, Darlington

Elizabeth Louise Kendall, Leicester West

Luciana Clare Berger, Liverpool Wavertree

Tristram Julian William Hunt, Stoke-on-Trent Central

William Neil Carmichael, Stroud

Anne Marie Morris, Newton Abbot

Henry Edward Millar Smith, Crawley

20 May 2010 : Column 22

Tom Francis Blenkinsop, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland

Philip James Lee, Bracknell

Elizabeth Mary Truss, South West Norfolk

Jonathan Peter Evans, Cardiff North

Guy Opperman, Hexham

Alan Patrick Vincent Whitehead, Southampton, Test

David John Nuttall, Bury North

Sheryll Murray, South East Cornwall

Gavin Laurence Barwell, Croydon Central

Helen Grant, Maidstone and The Weald

Andrea Jacqueline Leadsom, South Northamptonshire

Richard Graham, Gloucester

Alok Sharma, Reading West

Michael Bruse Crockart, Edinburgh West

Daniel Alan Byles, North Warwickshire

Thomas James Greatrex, Rutherglen and Hamilton West

David Hywel Francis, Aberavon

Gareth Alan Johnson, Dartford

Marcus Charles Jones, Nuneaton

David John Barrington Burrowes, Enfield, Southgate

Eric Ollerenshaw, Lancaster and Fleetwood

Andrew Stephenson, Pendle

Right honourable Peter Bruce Lilley, Hitchin and Harpenden

Stephen Charles Brine, Winchester

Simon James Wright, Norwich South

Brandon Kenneth Lewis, Great Yarmouth

Chris Kelly, Dudley South

Jacqueline Doyle-Price, Thurrock

Alison Jane Seabeck, Plymouth, Moor View

Joseph Edmund Johnson, Orpington

Jennifer Nancy Willott, Cardiff Central

Margot James, Stourbridge

Mike Freer, Finchley and Golders Green

Jane Elizabeth Ellison, Battersea

Stephen James Metcalfe, South Basildon and East Thurrock

Stephen Anthony McPartland, Stevenage

Gordon Henderson, Sittingbourne and Sheppey

Nicola Claire Blackwood, Oxford West and Abingdon

Alun Hugh Cairns, Vale of Glamorgan

Edward Glyn Davies, Montgomeryshire

Harriett Mary Morison Baldwin, West Worcestershire

Stephen Paul Barclay, North East Cambridgeshire

Bernard Christison Jenkin, Harwich and North Essex

Right honourable Sir Gerald Bernard Kaufman, Manchester, Gorton

Right honourable Andrew John Bower Mitchell, Sutton Coldfield

Gavin Alexander Williamson, South Staffordshire

Robin Caspar Walker, Worcester

Michael Tyrone Ellis, Northampton North

Gordon Birtwistle, Burnley

Nadhim Zahawi, Stratford-on-Avon

20 May 2010 : Column 23

Andrew Francis Slaughter, Hammersmith

Charles George Eustice, Camborne and Redruth

Karen Elizabeth Lumley, Redditch

George Michael Edward Hollingbery, Meon Valley

Robert James Buckland, South Swindon

Justin Paul Tomlinson, North Swindon

Christopher John Bryant, Rhondda

Atta-Ur-Rehman Chishti, Gillingham and Rainham

Thomas Anthony Watson, West Bromwich East

Benedict Michael Gummer, Ipswich

Gareth Richard Thomas, Harrow West

Jason Alexander McCartney, Colne Valley

Right honourable Liam Dominic Byrne, Birmingham, Hodge Hill

11.23 am

Sitting suspended.

12 noon

On resuming-

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by law:

Brooks Philip Victor Newmark, for Braintree

Paul Christopher Maynard, Blackpool North and Cleveleys

Aidan Burley, Cannock Chase

Gemma Doyle, West Dunbartonshire

Robert Charles Douglas Flello, Stoke-on-Trent South

Andrew Hanson Jones, Harrogate and Knaresborough

Stephen James Phillips, Sleaford and North Hykeham

Lisa Eva Nandy, Wigan

Paul Blomfield, Sheffield Central

David John Mowat, Warrington South

Lorely Jane Burt, Solihull

Matthew Hancock, West Suffolk

Christopher White, Warwick and Leamington

Emily Thornberry, Islington South and Finsbury

Timothy Stephen Kenneth Yeo, South Suffolk

Adam Afriyie, Windsor

20 May 2010 : Column 24

Graeme Morrice, Livingston

Margaret Patricia Curran, Glasgow East

Stuart Andrew, Pudsey

Susan Elan Jones, Clwyd South

Ian Murray, Edinburgh South

James Philip Duddridge, Rochford and Southend East

Rebecca Elizabeth Harris, Castle Point

Barry Strachan Gardiner, Brent North

Next Section Index Home Page