The Armed Forces Bill - Armed Forces Committee Contents

Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill

The Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill was appointed by an Order of the House of Commons to consider the Armed Forces Bill.

Current membership

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (Chair)

Alex Cunningham MP (Labour, Stockton North)

Thomas Docherty MP (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Gemma Doyle MP (Labour/Co-operative, West Dunbartonshire)

Mr Tobias Ellwood MP (Conservative, Bournemouth East)

Mr Mark Francois MP (Conservative, Rayleigh and Wickford)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Mark Lancaster MP (Conservative, Milton Keynes North)

Jack Lopresti MP (Labour, Filton and Bradley Stoke)

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Christopher Pincher MP (Conservative, Tamworth)

Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Conservative, South Leicestershire)

Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

David Wright MP (Labour, Telford)


Extract from the Votes and Proceedings, 10 January 2011:
"Armed Forces Bill,—Ordered, That the following provisions shall apply to the Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill:
1. The Committee shall have 14 members, to be nominated by the Committee of Selection.
2. The Committee shall have power—
(a) to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place and to report from day to day the minutes of evidence taken before it;
(b) to admit the public during the examination of witnesses and during consideration of the Bill (but not otherwise); and
(c) to appoint specialist advisers either to supply information not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity relating to the provisions of the Armed Forces Bill."


The Report and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Georgina Holmes-Skelton (Clerk) and Miguel Boo Fraga (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5857; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 10 March 2011