Various Documents considered by the Committee - European Scrutiny Committee Contents


Numbering of documents

Three separate numbering systems are used in this Report for European Union documents:

Numbers in brackets are the Committee's own reference numbers.

Numbers in the form "5467/05" are Council of Ministers reference numbers. This system is also used by UK Government Departments, by the House of Commons Vote Office and for proceedings in the House.

Numbers preceded by the letters COM or SEC are Commission reference numbers.

Where only a Committee number is given, this usually indicates that no official text is available and the Government has submitted an "unnumbered Explanatory Memorandum" discussing what is likely to be included in the document or covering an unofficial text.

Abbreviations used in the headnotes and footnotes
EC(in "Legal base") Treaty establishing the European Community
EMExplanatory Memorandum (submitted by the Government to the Committee)
EPEuropean Parliament
EU(in "Legal base") Treaty on European Union
GAERCGeneral Affairs and External Relations Council
JHAJustice and Home Affairs
OJOfficial Journal of the European Communities
QMVQualified majority voting
RIARegulatory Impact Assessment
SEMSupplementary Explanatory Memorandum


Where figures in euros have been converted to pounds sterling, this is normally at the market rate for the last working day of the previous month.

Further information

Documents recommended by the Committee for debate, together with the times of forthcoming debates (where known), are listed in the European Union Documents list, which is in the House of Commons Vote Bundle on Mondays and is also available on the parliamentary website. Documents awaiting consideration by the Committee are listed in "Remaining Business": The website also contains the Committee's Reports.

Letters sent by Ministers to the Committee about documents are available for the public to inspect; anyone wishing to do so should contact the staff of the Committee ("Contacts" below).


The staff of the Committee are Alistair Doherty (Clerk), David Griffiths (Clerk Adviser), Terry Byrne (Clerk Adviser), Leigh Gibson (Clerk Adviser), Peter Harborne (Clerk Adviser), Paul Hardy (Legal Adviser) (Counsel for European Legislation), Lis Partridge (Assistant to the Clerk), Hannah Lamb (Senior Committee Assistant), Shane Pathmanathan (Committee Assistant), Jim Camp (Committee Assistant), Anna Browning (Committee Assistant), Mark Kendrick (Committee Support Assistant), and Paula Saunderson (Office Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Scrutiny Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is (020) 7219 3292/5465. The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 2 December 2010