The UK's foreign policy approach to Afghanistan and Pakistan - Foreign Affairs Committee Contents

List of key abbreviations

ANA   Afghan National Army

ANP   Afghan National Police

ANSF  Afghan National Security Forces

COIN   Counterinsurgency

DFID   Department for International Development

FATA   Federally Administered Tribal Areas

FCO   Foreign & Commonwealth Office

HIG   Hezb-e-Islami Gulbuddin

IED   Improvised Explosive Device

ISAF   International Security Assistance Force

ISI   Inter-Services Intelligence

NATO  North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

PRT   Provincial Reconstruction Team

UN   United Nations

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 2 March 2011