Future inter-parliamentary scrutiny of EU foreign, defence and security policy - Foreign Affairs Committee Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies.

Current membership

Richard Ottaway (Conservative, Croydon South) (Chair)

Rt Hon Bob Ainsworth (Labour, Coventry North East)

Mr John Baron (Conservative, Basildon and Billericay)

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell (Liberal Democrats, North East Fife)

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes (Labour, Ilford South)

Andrew Rosindell (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Frank Roy (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Rory Stewart (Conservative, Penrith and The Border)

Mr Dave Watts (Labour, St Helens North)

The following Member was also a member of the Committee during the parliament:

Emma Reynolds (Labour, Wolverhampton North East)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/foreign_affairs_committee.cfm.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Robin James (Clerk), Mr Eliot Barrass (Second Clerk), Ms Adèle Brown (Committee Specialist), Dr Brigid Fowler (Committee Specialist), Mr Richard Dawson (Senior Committee Assistant), Miss Jennifer Kelly (Committee Assistant), Mrs Catherine Close (Committee Assistant) and Mr Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6394; the Committee's email address is foraffcom@parliament.uk

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 18 January 2011