The work of the UK Border Agency - Home Affairs Committee Contents

The Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East) (Chair)

Nicola Blackwood MP (Conservative, Oxford West and Abington)

Mr Aidan Burley MP (Conservative, Cannock Chase)

James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Lorraine Fullbrook MP (Conservative, South Ribble)

Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Steve McCabe MP (Labour, Birmingham Selly Oak)

Rt Hon Alun Michael MP (Labour & Co-operative, Cardiff South and Penarth)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Mark Reckless MP (Conservative, Rochester and Strood)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament.

Mary Macleod MP (Conservative, Brentford and Isleworth)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elizabeth Flood (Clerk), Joanna Dodd (Second Clerk), Sarah Petit (Committee Specialist), Eleanor Scarnell (Inquiry Manager), Darren Hackett (Senior Committee Assistant), Sheryl Dinsdale (Committee Assistant), Victoria Butt (Committee Assistant) and Alex Paterson (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3276; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 11 January 2011