Pre-Appointment Hearings: Further Government Response to the Committee's Second Report of Session 2009-10 (The Work of Committees in 2008-09) - Liaison Committee Contents

Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chair)

The Chair of the following Select Committees are all members of the Liaison Committee:

Administration - Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst (Conservative, Saffron Walden)

Backbench Business - Natascha Engel MP (Labour, North East Derbyshire)

Business, Innovation and Skills - Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour/Co-op, West Bromwich West)

Communities and Local Government - Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East)

Culture, Media and Sport - Mr John Whittingdale MP (Conservative, Maldon)

Defence - Mr James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Education - Mr Graham Stuart MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)

Energy and Climate Change - Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative, South Suffolk)

Environmental Audit - Joan Walley MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Miss Anne McIntosh MP (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)

European Scrutiny - Mr William Cash (Conservative, Stone)

Finance and Services - John Thurso (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)

Foreign Affairs - Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Health - Mr Stephen Dorrell MP (Conservative, Charnwood)

Home Affairs - Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)

Human Rights (Joint Committee) - Dr Hywel Francis (Labour, Aberavon)

International Development - Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat, Gordon)

Justice - Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed)

Northern Ireland Affairs - Mr Laurence Robertson MP (Conservative, Tewkesbury)

Political and Constitutional Reform - Mr Graham Allen MP (Labour, Nottingham North)

Procedure - Mr Greg Knight MP (Conservative, East Yorkshire)

Public Accounts - Margaret Hodge MP (Labour, Barking)

Public Administration - Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Regulatory Reform - Mr Robert Syms (Conservative, Poole)

Science and Technology - Andrew Miller MP (Labour, Ellesmere Port and Neston)

Scottish Affairs - Mr Ian Davidson MP (Labour/Co-op, Glasgow South West)

Selection - Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Conservative, The Cotswolds)

Standards and Privileges - Rt Hon Kevin Barron (Labour, Rother Valley)

Statutory Instruments - Mr George Mudie MP (Labour, Leeds East)

Transport - Mrs Louise Ellman MP (Labour/Co-op, Liverpool Riverside)

Treasury - Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)

Welsh Affairs - David T C Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Work and Pensions - Miss Anne Begg MP (Labour, Aberdeen South)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons SO No 145. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jacqy Sharpe (Clerk), Philippa Helme (Second Clerk), Paul Evans, (Clerk to the National Policy Statements Sub-Committee), Kevin Candy (Senior Committee Assistant) and Lee Chiddicks (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5675; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 2 November 2010