Review of past ACA payments: further supplementary report - Members Estimate Committee Contents

Members Estimate Committee

The Members Estimate Committee has the same Members as the House of Commons Commission:

Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP

Sir Paul Beresford MP

Frank Doran MP

John Thurso MP

Rt Hon Sir George Young MP, Leader of the House

The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No 152D (House of Commons Members Estimate Committee):

152D.—(1) There shall be a committee of this House, called the House of Commons Members Estimate Committee.

(2) The members of the committee shall be those Members who are at any time members of the House of Commons Commission pursuant to section 1 of the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978; the Speaker shall be chairman of committee; and three shall be the quorum of the committee.

(3) The functions of the committee shall be—

(a)  to codify and keep under review the provisions of the resolutions of this House and the Guide to Members' Allowances known as the Green Book relating to expenditure charged to the Estimate for House of Commons: Members;

(b)  to modify those provisions from time to time as the committee may think necessary or desirable in the interests of clarity, consistency, accountability and effective administration, and conformity with current circumstances;

(c)  to provide advice, when requested by the Speaker, on the application of those provisions in individual cases;

(d)  to carry out the responsibilities conferred on the Speaker by the resolution of the House of 5th July 2001 relating to Members' Allowances, Insurance, &c.;

(e)  to consider appeals against determinations made by the Committee on Members' Allowances under paragraph (1)(d) of Standing Order No. 152G.

(4) Paragraph (3)(b) above does not empower the committee—

(a)  to create a new form of charge on the Estimate for House of Commons: Members; or

(b)  to increase any rate of charge or payment determined by resolution of this House.

(5) The committee shall report to the House from time to time, and in any case not less than once a year, the provisions of the resolutions of this House relating to expenditure charged to the Estimate for House of Commons: Members, as codified and modified pursuant to paragraph (3) of this order.

(6) The committee shall have power to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House.

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee are Dorian Gerhold, Rob Cope and Louise Sargent.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 1 April 2011