Ministerial Statements - Procedure Committee Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Membership during the Session

Rt Hon Greg Knight MP (Conservative, Yorkshire East) (Chair)

Mrs Jenny Chapman (Labour, Darlington)

Mr Roger Gale (Conservative, North Thanet)

Mr James Gray (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Tom Greatrex (Lab/Co-op, Rutherglen and Hamilton West)

John Hemming (Liberal Democrat, Birmingham Yardley)  

Mr David Nuttall (Conservative, Bury North)  

Andrew Percy (Conservative, Brigg and Goole)

Bridget Phillipson (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Jacob Rees-Mogg (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Angela Smith (Labour, Penistone and Stocksbridge)

Sir Peter Soulsby (Labour, Leicester South)

Mike Wood (Labour, Batley and Spen)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 147. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner and Anne-Marie Griffiths (Clerks) and Rowena Macdonald and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3318; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 2 February 2011