Science and Technology  Committee - Minutes of Evidence [Back to Report]
Scientific advice and evidence in emergencies

Here you can browse the Minutes of Evidence which were ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 14 February 2011.

Oral Evidence

Taken before the Science and Technology Committee

on Wednesday 3 November 2010

Members present:
Andrew Miller (Chair) David Morris
Gavin BarwellStephen Mosley
Gregg McClymontPamela Nash
Stephen MetcalfeGraham Stringer


Witnesses: Ray Elgy, Head of Licensing and Training Standards, Safety Regulation Group, Civil Aviation Authority, Dr Guy Gratton, Royal Aeronautical Society, Dr Sue Loughlin, Head of Volcanology, British Geological Survey, and Captain Tim Steeds, Director of Safety and Security, British Airways, gave evidence.

Question Numbers:


Witnesses: Professor Brian Collins, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Transport, Dr Miles Parker, Deputy Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and Professor Julia Slingo, Chief Scientific Advisor, Met Office, gave evidence.

Question Numbers:


contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 2 March 2011