Appointment of nominated Commissioners to the Electoral Commission - The Speaker's Committee Contents

2  The selection process

6.  The parties eligible to make nominations under the terms of the PPE Act 2009 were:

  • the Conservative party;
  • the Co-operative party;
  • the Democratic Unionist Party;
  • the Labour party;
  • the Liberal Democrats;
  • Plaid Cymru;
  • the Scottish National Party; and
  • the Social Democratic and Labour Party.

7.  Nominations were received by the Speaker from: the Conservative party; the Democratic Unionist party; the Labour party; the Liberal Democrats and the Scottish National Party. The Social Democratic and Labour Party and Plaid Cymru supported the nomination put forward by the Scottish National Party.

8.  In December 2009 the Speaker's Committee asked the Speaker to appoint a Panel to recommend four persons to go forward to the statutory consultation stages of the appointment process for nominated Electoral Commissioners. The Panel members were:

  • Dame Denise Platt, DBE, Member of the Committee on Standards in Public Life (Chair of the Panel)
  • Rt. Hon. Sir Alan Beith MP, Member of the Speaker's Committee
  • Gary Streeter MP, Member of the Speaker's Committee
  • Rt. Hon. Sir Gerald Kaufman MP, Member of the Speaker's Committee; and
  • Jenny Watson, Chairman of the Electoral Commission.

9.  Sir Alan Beith withdrew from the Panel before it commenced its deliberations, owing to the pressure of other commitments. The remaining Panel members met twice, on 28 January and 25 February 2010. The Panel's written report and recommendations was made to the Speaker by the chair of the Panel on 25 February.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2010
Prepared 14 July 2010