Session 2010-12
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin

Weekly Information Bulletin: 11th September 2010


Weekly Information Bulletin:

The next Bulletin will be issued on Friday 17th September 2010 (Electronic format only) after 4.00pm.

Private Members’ Bills:

The Private Members’ Bills Ballot took place on Thurs.10 June.

The presentation and First reading of the successful Private Members Bills took place on Wednesday 30 June.

The Leader of the House has announced that Private Members’ Bills shall have precedence over Government business on 22 October, 12 & 19 November, 3 December 2010 & 21 January, 4 & 11 February, 4 & 18 March, 1 April, 13 May and 10 & 17 June.

Palace of Westminster Summer Opening 2010:

The Houses of Parliament will be open to the public at the following times:

September and October:

Monday, Friday and Saturday between 9.15am and 4.30pm.

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday between 1.15pm and 4.30pm.

Tickets are available to buy online through (external website)

or by phoning 0844 847 1672.

House of Commons calendar for the 2010/2011 session:

The Leader of the House announced the following recess dates for the 2010/2011 session:

Whitsun recess 2010

The House rose on Thursday 27 May 2010 and returned on Wednesday 2 June 2010

Summer recess 2010

The House rose on Tuesday 27 July and returned on Monday 6 September (for two weeks).

Conference recess 2010

The House will rise on Thursday 16 September and return on Monday 11 October.

Christmas recess 2010

The House will rise on Tuesday 21 December and will return on Monday 10 January

Party Conferences 2010:

Conservative Party Conference will be held in Birmingham on 3 – 6 October 2010

Liberal Democrat Party Conference will be held in Liverpool on 18 – 22 September 2010

Labour Party Conference will be held in Manchester on 26 – 30 September 2010

The Parliament website provides information on parliamentary proceedings, membership of both Houses and general information on a wide range of parliamentary matters.