Session 2010-12
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin

Weekly Information Bulletin: 9th April 2011

Business of the House of Commons

1 – 8 April 2011

Friday 1 April

The House sat at 9.30am

Private Members’ Bills

Coinage (Measurement) Bill – Mark Lancaster – Remaining stages (Agreed, Bill read a third time)

Broadcasting (Public Service Content) Bill – Mr Christopher Chope – 2R

Food Labelling Regulations (Amendment) Bill – Mr Richard Bacon – 2R - (Deb adj. 2R to be resumed 21.10.11)

Fire Safety (Protection of Tenants) Bill – Mr Adrian Sanders – 2R (Ordered for 2R: 21.10.11)

Contaminated Blood (Support for Infected and Bereaved Persons) Bill [HL] – Mr Tom Clarke – 2R (Ordered for 2R: 21.10.11)

Council Housing (Local Financing Pathfinders) Bill – Sarah Newton – 2R (Dropped)

Medical Insurance (Pensioner tax relief) Bill – Mr Peter Bone – 2R (Ordered for 2R: 13.05.11)

Parliamentary Standards (Amendment) Bill – Adam Afriyie – 2R (Ordered for 2R: 13.05.11)

Adjournment – Situation in Yemen – Keith Vaz

The House rose at 3.01pm

Monday 4 April

The House sat at 2.30pm

Oral Questions – Communities and Local Government, including Topical Questions

Urgent Question – Armed Forces Redundancies

Statement – Africa and the Middle East – Mr William Hague

Statement – NHS Reform – Mr Andrew Lansley

Statement – Murder of PC Ronan Kerr – Mr Owen Paterson

Statement – State Pensions Reform – Steve Webb

Debate – Opposition Day (14th allotted day) – Government reductions in policing (Motion Agreed, as amended)

Adjournment – Treatment of Bradley Manning – Ann Clwyd

The House rose at 10.52pm

Tuesday 5 April

The House sat in Westminster Hall between 9.30am-2.00pm

Westminster Hall Private Members’ Debates:

09.30-11.00 – BBC local radio – Dr Thérèse Coffey [R]

11.00-11.30 – Future of advice centres in Barnsley and Sheffield – Angela Smith

14.30 -16.00 – Competitiveness of the UK oil refining industry – Michael Connarty

16.00-16.30 – Government policy on net neutrality – Mr Dominic Raab

16.30-17.00 – Library services in South Manchester – Mr John Leech

The House sat at 11.30am

Oral Questions – Deputy Prime Minister, including Topical Questions, Attorney General, Church Commissioners etc.

Urgent Question – Social Mobility Strategy – Mr Nick Clegg

Urgent Question – British Nationals (Eritrea) – Mr Henry Bellingham

Presentation of a Bill – Sustainable Energy (Local Plans) Bill – Martin Horwood (Bill read a first time and passed)

Ten Minute Rule Motion – Electoral Registration, Identification and Eligibility for Voting – Mike Gapes (Negatived, on division)

Debate – Britain’s contribution to humanitarian relief and Libya (Agreed)

Backbench Business – Pre-recess adjournment debate (Agreed)

Adjournment – Forestry Commission employment in Northumberland – Sir Alan Beith

The House rose at 8.27pm

Wednesday 6 April

The House will be in Recess

Thursday 7 April

The House will be in Recess

Friday 8 April

The House will be in Recess

Written Ministerial Statements 

4 – 8 April 2011


Corporate Capital Gains Degrouping Charges (Simplification) – Mr David Gauke


Office for Budget Responsibility – Justine Greening


New Homes Bonus Final Allocations (Year 1) – Grant Shapps


Armed Forces Redundancy Process – Dr Liam Fox


UK Oil and Gas (Regulation) – Charles Hendry


Afghanistan: Monthly Progress Report February 2011 – Mr William Hague


FCO Services (Performance Targets 2011-12) – Mr Henry Bellingham


Disability Living Allowance Reform – Maria Miller


State Pension Reform – Steve Webb


Intellectual Property Office (Public Targets) – Mr Edward Davey


Unfunded Public Service Pension Contributions – Danny Alexander


Abolition of Regional Strategies – Robert Neill


Social Mobility Strategy – Mr Nick Clegg


Water Affordability (Consultation) – Richard Benyon


Agriculture and Fisheries Council – Mrs Caroline Spelman


Police Leadership and Training Review – Mrs Theresa May


Conflict Resources (2011-12) – Mr Andrew Mitchell


Probation Service (Revised National Standards) – Mr Crispin Blunt


Brussels I Regulation – Mr Jonathan Djanogly


Rosemary Nelson Inquiry – Mr Owen Paterson


Non-jury Trial (Extension) – Mr Owen Paterson


EU Cross-border Road Safety Directive – Mike Penning


Child Poverty Strategy – Mr Iain Duncan Smith


Parliamentary Written Answer (Correction) – Steve Webb