Session 2010-12
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin

Weekly Information Bulletin: 9th April 2011

Select Committees

Select Committees are set up to examine the work of Government Departments, and now constitute the main investigatory system by which the House overseas the exercise of Government responsibilities and the development of public policy and expenditure.

The following information on Select Committees is available on the Parliament website:

Select Committee membership:

Links to Select Committee home pages containing information on the work of the Select Committee and its publications:

For further information on Select Committees see HCIO Factsheet P2 produced by the House of Commons Information Office, available in hardcopy on request or to download from the Parliament website.

Membership announcements and changes:

Draft Defamation Bill (Joint Committee): Chair – Lord Mawhinney

Select Committee Meetings

4 – 8 April 2011

Monday 4 April

Scottish Affairs
Subject: The student immigration system in Scotland
Witnesses: Joy Elliot, International Students Respresentative, NUS NEC, Robin Parker, President Elect, NUS, Leslie McIntosh, Scottish President, University and Colleges Union, Helen Martin, STUC Assistant Secretary; Professor Iain Diamond, University of Aberdeen, Shona Cormack, Robert Gordon University, Professor John Duffield, Edinburgh Napier University, and Alastair Sim, Director, Universities Scotland (at 3.15pm)

Welsh Affairs
Subject: Inward Investment in Wales
Witnesses: Swansea University; e-skills Wales, Energy and Utility Skills Limited, and Morrisons (at 3.15pm)

*Draft Detention of Terrorist Suspects
Subject: Draft Detention of Terrorist Suspects (Temporary Extension) Bill
Witnesses: Rt Hon Jack Straw MP, Rt Hon David Blunkett MP, Rt Hon Charles Clarke, former Home Secretaries, and Lord Goldsmith QC, former Attorney General; and Professor Clive Walker, Professor of Criminal Justice Studies, University of Leeds, and Professor Conor Gearty, London School of Economics (at 5.00pm)

Communities and Local Government
Subject: Audit and Inspection of local authorities
Witnesses: Amyas Morse, Comptroller and Auditor General, National Audit Office; Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP, Minister for Housing and Local Government, Department for Communities and Local Government (at 4.50pm)

Tuesday 5 April

*Energy and Climate Change
Subject: Shale Gas
Witnesses: Charles Hendry MP, Minister of State, Department of Energy and Climate Change and officials

*Business, Innovation and Skills
Subject: The future of higher education
Witnesses: Aaron Porter, President, National Union of Students; University and College Union, Unite the Union, and UNISON (at 11.30am); Quality Assurance Agency (at 12.30pm)

International Development
Subject: Infrastructure and Development
Witnesses: Dr Mo Ibrahim, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, Professor Antonio Estache, Universite Libre de Brussels, and John Hawkins, Institution of Civil Engineers

*Culture, Media and Sport
Subject: Football Governance
Witnesses: Dave Richards, Chairman and Richard Scudamore, Chief Executive, Premier League; Football Conference (at 11.30am)

Home Affairs
Subject: (i) The work of the UK Border Agency (ii) Unauthorised tapping into or hacking of mobile communications
Witnesses: (i) Jonathan Sedgwick, Chief Executive, UK Border Agency; Helen Ghosh DCB, Permanent Secretary, Home Office (at 11.30am); (ii) Keir Starmer QC, Director of Public Prosecutions (at 12.15pm)

Wednesday 6 April


Thursday 7 April


Friday 8 April