House of Commons

House of Commons Votes and Proceedings
18th May 2010

No. 1

Tuesday 18 May 2010

The House met at 2.30 pm.

1 Meeting of the House

The House met on the first day of this Parliament, pursuant to Proclamation.

Malcolm Roy Jack, Clerk of the House of Commons, Robert James Rogers, Clerk Assistant, and Andrew Rowland Kennon, Principal Clerk of the Table Office, attended in the House, and the other Clerks attended, according to their duty.

Charles Ian Paul Denyer, Deputy Clerk of the Crown in Chancery in Great Britain, delivered to the said Malcolm Roy Jack a book containing a list of the names of the Members returned to serve in this Parliament.

Sir Peter Tapsell took the Chair (Standing Order No. 1).

2 Message to attend the Lords Commissioners

Message from the Lords Commissioners delivered by the Yeoman Usher of the Black Rod:

Members of the House of Commons,

The Lords, authorised by virtue of Her Majesty’s Commission, desire the immediate attendance of this Honourable House in the House of Peers.

3 Attendance in the House of Lords

The House went up to the House of Lords.

The Commission was read for opening and holding the Parliament and the Lords Commissioners directed the House to proceed to the election of a Speaker, and to present the Speaker Elect in the House of Lords, for the Royal Approbation.

The House returned.

4 Re-election of former Speaker

Sir Peter Tapsell inquired whether John Bercow, as the Member who was Speaker at the dissolution of the previous Parliament, was willing to be chosen as Speaker (Standing Order No. 1A).

John Bercow stood up in his place, indicated that he was willing to be so chosen, and submitted himself to the House.

Motion made and Question put forthwith (Standing Order No. 1A), That John Bercow do take the Chair of this House as Speaker.-(Sir Malcolm Rifkind.)

Question agreed to.

Sir Peter Tapsell left the Chair.

John Bercow was taken out of his place and conducted to the Chair by Joan Walley and Sir Malcolm Rifkind.

John Bercow, standing on the upper step, expressed his respectful and humble acknowledgement to the House of the great honour the House had been pleased to confer upon him, and sat down in the Chair.

The Mace was placed upon the Table.

The Prime Minister, Ms Harriet Harman, Angus Robertson and Mr David Blunkett congratulated the Speaker Elect.

5 Adjournment

Resolved, That this House do now adjourn until 3.10pm tomorrow.-(Mr Philip Dunne.)

Adjourned at 3.12 pm until tomorrow.

Prepared 20th January 2015