Developing Threats: Electro-Magnetic Pulses (EMP) - Defence Committee Contents

Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (Chair)

Mr Julian Brazier MP (Conservative, Canterbury)

Thomas Docherty MP (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Rt Hon Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Democratic Unionist, Lagan Valley)

John Glen MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Penny Mordaunt MP (Conservative, Portsmouth North)

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Sir Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Ms Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham, Edgbaston)

The following were also Members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Mr David Hamilton MP (Labour, Midlothian)

Mr Mike Hancock MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Mr Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Alison Seabeck MP (Labour, Moor View)

John Woodcock MP (Lab/Co-op, Barrow and Furness)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Alda Barry (Clerk), Judith Boyce (Second Clerk), Karen Jackson (Audit Adviser), Ian Thomson (Inquiry Manager), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Committee Assistant), Sumati Sowamber (Committee Support Assistant), and Clayton McCleskey (Intern).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 22 February 2012