Shale Gas - Energy and Climate Change Committee Contents

The Energy and Climate Change Committee

The Energy and Climate Change Committee is appointed by the House of

Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Energy and Climate Change and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative, South Suffolk) (Chair)

Dan Byles MP (Conservative, North Warwickshire)

Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)

Ian Lavery MP (Labour, Wansbeck)

Dr Phillip Lee MP (Conservative, Bracknell)

Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)

Christopher Pincher MP (Conservative, Tamworth)

John Robertson MP (Labour, Glasgow North West)

Laura Sandys MP (Conservative, South Thanet)

Sir Robert Smith MP (Liberal Democrat, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton Test)

The following members were also members of the committee during the parliament:

Gemma Doyle MP (Labour/Co-operative, West Dunbartonshire)

Tom Greatrex MP (Labour, Rutherglen and Hamilton West)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

The Report of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral

evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Nerys Welfoot (Clerk), Richard Benwell

(Second Clerk), Dr Michael H. O'Brien (Committee Specialist), Jenny Bird (Committee Specialist), Francene Graham (Senior Committee Assistant),
Jonathan Olivier Wright (Committee Assistant), Emily Harrisson (Committee Support Assistant) and Nick Davies (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Energy and Climate Change Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2569; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 23 May 2011