Joint Enterprise: Government Response to the Committee's Eleventh Report of Session 2010-12 - Justice Committee Contents

Justice Committee

The Justice Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Justice and its associated public bodies (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments, and excluding the work of the Scotland and Wales Offices and of the Advocate General for Scotland); and administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chair)

Steve Brine (Conservative, Winchester)

Mr Robert Buckland (Conservative, South Swindon)

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour, Islington North)

Nick de Bois (Conservative, Enfield North)

Christopher Evans (Labour/Co-operative, Islwyn)

Ben Gummer (Conservative, Ipswich)

Rt Hon Elfyn Llwyd (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)

Seema Malhotra (Labour/Co-operative, Feltham and Heston)

Yasmin Qureshi (Labour, Bolton South East)

Elizabeth Truss (Conservative, South West Norfolk)

Karl Turner (Labour, Kingston upon Hull East)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Mrs Helen Grant (Conservative, Maidstone and The Weald); Mrs Siân C James (Labour, Swansea East); Jessica Lee (Conservative, Erewash); Claire Perry (Conservative, Devizes);Mrs Linda Riordan (Labour/Co-operative, Halifax);and Anna Soubry (Conservative, Broxtowe).


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral

evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume.

Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Tom Goldsmith (Clerk), Sarah Petit (Second Clark), Hannah Stewart (Committee Legal Specialist), John-Paul Flaherty (Inquiry Manager), Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant), Sonia Draper (Committee Assistant), Greta Piacquadio (Committee Support Assistant), Frances Haycock (Sandwich Student) and Nick Davies (Committee Media Officer).


Correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Justice Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196 and the email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 20 March 2012