Rules of Royal Succession - Political and Constitutional Reform Committee Contents

Annex 1: Statement of Friday 28 October 2011

issued at Perth following a meeting of the 16 Realms of HM Queen Elizabeth II

"The Prime Ministers of the sixteen Commonwealth nations of whom Her Majesty the Queen is Head of State have agreed in principle to work together towards a common approach to amending the rules on the succession to their respective Crowns. They will wish unanimously to advise The Queen of their views and seek her agreement.

"All countries wish to see change in two areas. First, they wish to end the system of male preference primogeniture under which a younger son can displace an elder daughter in the line of succession. Second, they wish to remove the legal provision that anyone who marries a Roman Catholic shall be ineligible to succeed to the Crown. There are no other restrictions in the rules about the religion of the spouse of a person in the line of succession and the Prime Ministers felt that this unique barrier could no longer be justified.

"The Prime Ministers have agreed that they will each work within their respective administrations to bring forward the necessary measures to enable all the realms to give effect to these changes simultaneously."

Note: The 16 Realms are Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, St Christopher and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and the United Kingdom.

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 7 December 2011