The impact of the 2007-08 changes to public sector pensions - Public Accounts Committee Contents

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine "the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit" (Standing Order No 148).

Current membership

Rt Hon Margaret Hodge (Labour, Barking) (Chair)

Mr Richard Bacon (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Mr Stephen Barclay (Conservative, North East Cambridgeshire)

Dr Stella Creasy (Labour/Cooperative, Walthamstow)

Jackie Doyle-Price (Conservative, Thurrock)

Justine Greening (Conservative, Putney)

Matthew Hancock (Conservative, West Suffolk)

Chris Heaton-Harris (Conservative, Daventry)

Joseph Johnson (Conservative, Orpington)

Rt Hon Mrs Anne McGuire (Labour, Stirling)

Mr Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Nick Smith (Labour, Blaenau Gwent)

Ian Swales (Liberal Democrats, Redcar)

James Wharton (Conservative, Stockton South)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament:

Eric Joyce (Labour, Falkirk)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 148. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Session is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee is Philip Aylett (Clerk), Lori Verwaerde (Senior Committee Assistant), Ian Blair and Michelle Garratty (Committee Assistants) and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk, Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5708; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 26 May 2011