Science and Technology  Committee - Minutes of Evidence [Back to Report]
Astronomy and Particle Physics

Here you can browse the Minutes of Evidence which were ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 4 May 2011.

Oral Evidence

Taken before the Science and Technology Committee

on Wednesday 16 March 2011

Members present:
Andrew Miller (Chair) Stephen Mosley
Gavin BarwellPamela Nash
Stephen MetcalfeGraham Stringer
David MorrisRoger Williams



Examination of Witnesses

Witnesses: Professor Phil Allport, Head of Particle Physics and Director of the Liverpool Semiconductor Detector Centre, University of Liverpool, Professor Mike Bode, Director of the Astrophysics Research Institute, Liverpool John Moores University, Professor Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr., Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy Director, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, Professor John Peacock, Head of the Institute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh, Professor Steve Rawlings, sub-Department of Astrophysics, Oxford University, and Professor Andrei Seryi, Director, John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science, gave evidence.

Question Numbers


Witnesses: Professor Keith Mason, Chief Executive, Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), and Professor Sir Adrian Smith, Director General, Knowledge and Innovation, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, gave evidence.

Question Numbers


contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 13 May 2011