Session 2010-12
Publications on the internet
Weekly Information Bulletin

Weekly Information Bulletin: 14th May 2011

House of Lords Committees: Forthcoming Public Meetings
16 – 20 May 2011

Further enquiries about Lords Committees can be made to the Lords Committee Office: 020 7219 2940

Monday 16 May

Joint Committee on the Draft Detention of Terrorist Suspects (Temporary Extension) Bills*
Subject: to consider the Bill
Witnesses: (at 4.15pm) Rt Hon Theresa May MP, Home Secretary


Tuesday 17 May

HIV and AIDS in the United Kingdom
Witnesses: (at 10.15am) tbc; and (at 11.15am) Wendy Proctor, COI Director of the Client Account Team and Group Client Director on health business; Kate Waters, former Planning Partner, Partners Andrews Aldridge (PAA); Dr Rowena Merritt, Research Manager at The NSMC.


Science and Technology
Subject: Nuclear Research and Development Capabilities
Witnesses: (at 10.40am) To be confirmed


Economic and Financial Affairs, and International Trade (EU Sub-Committee A)
Subject: Credit Rating Agencies
Witnesses: (at 11.00am) Credit Rating Agencies: Moody’s, Standard and Poor’s, Fitch, and (at 11.45am) a Member of the European Parliament (To be confirmed)


Subject: The governance and regulation of the BBC
Witnesses: (at 3.30pm) Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport; and Mr Jon Zeff, Director of Media, Department for Culture, Media and Sport; and (at 4.30 pm) from Sir David Attenborough, natural history broadcaster; and Professor Brian Cox OBE, science broadcaster.


Wednesday 18 May

Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill
Subject: to consider the Bill
Witnesses: (at 9.30am) Sophie Farthing, Policy Officer, Liberty; David Marshall, Senior In-House Lawyer, Which?; Charmian Gooch, Director, Global Witness; Rowan Davies, Campaigns Organiser, Mumsnet; and from (at 10.30am) Lord Mackay of Clashfern, Former Lord High Chancellor; Lord Wakeham, Former Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission.


Subject: The Constitutional Reform Process
Witnesses: (at 10.15am) Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP, Deputy Prime Minister.


Thursday 19 May


Friday 20 May