Culture, Media and Sport Committee - First Report
The Gambling Act 2005: A bet worth taking?

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 12 July 2012.


Terms of Reference

1  Introduction and context

2  The three objectives of gambling regulation

3  The industry, tax and regulation

4  Casinos

5  The Gambling Commission

Conclusions and recommendations

Annex 1: Information gathered in Australia and Macao

Annex 2: Methodology of the British Gambling Prevalence Surveys

Annex 3: Full Tilt

Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

Oral and written evidence

Tuesday 18 October 2011: Roy Ramm, Director, NCiF, and Compliance Director, London Clubs International, Peter Brooks, Member, NCiF, and President and Chief Operating Officer, Genting UK, and Simon Thomas, Member, NCiF, and Chairman, Hippodrome Casino
Dirk Vennix, Chief Executive, Association of British Bookmakers, Warwick Bartlett, Chairman, Association of British Bookmakers, Andrew Lyman, Head of Public Affairs, William Hill, David Steele, Commercial Director, William Hill, and Richard Glynn, Chief Executive Officer, Ladbrokes

Tuesday 25 October 2011: Ian Burke, Chairman and Chief Executive, Rank Group, Alan Armstrong, Compliance and Development Director, Rank Group, Neil Goulden, Chairman Emeritus, Gala Coral Group, and Chairman, GREaT Foundation, and John O’Reilly, Managing Director, Coral Interactive, Gala Coral Group
John Greenway, Former Chairman of the Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill

Tuesday 1 November 2011: Paul Talboys, Chief Executive, Bingo Association, Kevin Allcock, Operations Director, Mecca Bingo, and John Carpenter, Manager, New Coronet Bingo Hall
Peter Harvey, CEO, Talarius, Elizabeth Speed, Group Solicitor, Noble Group, John Bollom, Trustee, BACTA (and owner of Mumbles Pier), Derek Petrie, President, BACTA and Leslie MacLeod-Miller, CEO, BACTA

Tuesday 8 November 2011: Clive Hawkswood, Chief Executive, Remote Gambling Association, John Coates, Chairman, Remote Gambling Association and Chief Executive, bet365, Peter Reynolds, Director of Communications,, Martin Cruddace, Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer, Betfair, and Charles Cohen, Chief Executive, Probability
Cllr David Parsons CBE, Chairman of Local Government Association Environment and Housing Board and Leader of Leicestershire County Council, Mike Holmes, Local Government Association Advisor on Planning, Richard Dowson, Chair, Casino Network and Senior Business Development Officer, Middlesbrough Council, and Stuart Baillie, Former Chair, Casino Network

Tuesday 22 November 2011: Dr Helena Chambers, Director, Quaker Action on Alcohol and Drugs, Daniel Webster, Parliamentary Officer, Evangelical Alliance, James North, Policy Officer, Methodist Church in Great Britain, Gareth Wallace, Public Affairs Officer, Salvation Army, and Lauri Moyle, Gambling Policy Officer, CARE
Andy McLellan, Chief Executive, GamCare, Anthony Jennens, Chairman, GamCare, Heather Wardle, Research Director, National Centre for Social Research, and Professor Jim Orford, Gambling Specialist, University of Birmingham

Thursday 12 January 2012: Richard Caborn, Former Minister for Sport and Tourism at the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, and Tessa Jowell MP, former Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
Andre Wilsenach, Executive Director, Alderney Gambling Control Commission, Phillip Brear, Gambling Commissioner, Gibraltar Gambling Commission, and Graham White, Chairman, Jersey Gambling Commission

Thursday 19 January 2012: Philip Graf, Chair, Gambling Commission, Brian Pomeroy, Chair, Responsible Gambling Strategy Board, and Jenny Williams, Chief Executive, Gambling Commission
John Penrose MP, Minister for Tourism and Heritage, Department for Culture, Media and Sport, and Chloe Smith MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury

Written evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 24 July 2012