The administration of examinations for 15-19 year olds in England - Education Committee Contents

The Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Membership at time Report agreed:

Mr Graham Stuart MP (Conservative, Beverley & Holderness) (Chair)

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Alex Cunningham MP (Labour, Stockton North)

Bill Esterson MP, (Labour, Sefton Central)

Pat Glass MP (Labour, North West Durham)

Damian Hinds MP (Conservative, East Hampshire)

Charlotte Leslie MP (Conservative, Bristol North West)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Lisa Nandy MP (Labour, Wigan)

David Ward MP (Liberal Democrat, Bradford East)

Craig Whittaker MP (Conservative, Calder Valley)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe) and Tessa Munt MP (Liberal Democrat, Wells) were also members of the Committee during the inquiry.


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner (Clerk), Penny Crouzet (Committee Specialist), Benjamin Nicholls (Committee Specialist), Ameet Chudasama (Senior Committee Assistant), Caroline McElwee (Committee Assistant), and Paul Hampson (Committee Support Assistant)


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6181; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 3 July 2012