Building New Nuclear: the challenges ahead - Energy and Climate Change Contents

10  Annex 2: Visit to Bridgwater and Hinkley Point C

In November 2012 we visited Bridgwater and the Hinkley Point C site. We met with representatives from EDF, local authorities, community representatives, the Principal of the Energy Skills Centre at Bridgwater College and local supply chain organisations. We discussed experiences so far of the proposal to build a new nuclear power plant at Hinkley Point C and the challenges that had been faced so far.

Participating members:

Dan Byles     Barry Gardiner    Sir Robert Smith

Visit outline

1. Visit to Hinkley Point C site and meeting with: Humphrey Cadoux-Hudson, Managing Director, Richard Mayson, New Nuclear Build Planning and External Affairs Director and Nigel Cann, Construction Director Hinkley Point C site.

2. Meeting with representatives from Sedgemoor District Council, West Somerset Council and Somerset County Council: Doug Bamsey, Corporate Director, Sedgemoor District Council; Cllr Mick Lerry, Leader, SDC; Bob Brown, SDC; Duncan McGinty, SDC; Adrian Dyer, West Somerset District Council; Tim Taylor, WSC; Chris Morgan, WSC; David Hall, Somerset County Council; and Alyn Jones SCC.

3. Meeting with local representatives: Alan Hurford, Bridgwater Town Council clerk; Colin Allen, Cannington Parish Council chair; Paul Gripton, Otterhampton Parish Council, lead member on Hinkley Point application; Susan Goss, West Somerset Council; Allan Searle, Stogursey Parish Council chair; Peter Malim, Stogursey Parish Council; Lesley Flash, Parish Councillor.

4. Tour of Bridgwater Energy Skills Centre: College Principal Mike Robbins; and David Eccles, EDF Energy

5. Meeting with supply chain organisations: Rupert Cox, Somerset Chamber of Commerce; Laing O'Rourke, Norman Haste; Greenslades Grounds Maintenance, Dave Greenslade; Jual Branded Clothing, Alison Brown; Elecsis Ltd, Chris Pratt; Taunton Fabrications Ltd, David Phelps and David Eccles, EDF Energy

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 4 March 2013