Protecting the Arctic - Environmental Audit Committee Contents

Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Joan Walley MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North) (Chair)

Peter Aldous MP (Conservative, Waveney)

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury) [ex-officio]

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Martin Caton MP (Labour, Gower)

Katy Clark MP (Labour, North Ayrshire and Arran)

Zac Goldsmith MP (Conservative, Richmond Park)

Mark Lazarowicz MP (Labour/Co-operative, Edinburgh North and Leith)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green, Brighton Pavilion)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative, South East Cornwall)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Mr Mark Spencer MP (Conservative, Sherwood)

Paul Uppal MP (Conservative, Wolverhampton South West)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton, Test)

Simon Wright MP (Liberal Democrat, Norwich South)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral

evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Simon Fiander (Clerk), Nicholas Beech (Second Clerk), Lee Nicholson (Committee Specialist), Andrew Wallace (Senior Committee Assistant), Anna Browning (Committee Assistant), Yago Zayed, Committee Support Assistant, and Nicholas Davies (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6150; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 20 September 2012