The role and future of the Commonwealth - Foreign Affairs Committee Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies.

Current membership

Richard Ottaway (Conservative, Croydon South) (Chair)

Rt Hon Bob Ainsworth (Labour, Coventry North East)

Mr John Baron (Conservative, Basildon and Billericay)

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell (Liberal Democrat, North East Fife)

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes (Labour/Co-op, Ilford South)

Mark Hendrick (Labour/Co-op, Preston)

Andrew Rosindell (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Frank Roy (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Rory Stewart (Conservative, Penrith and The Border)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the parliament:

Emma Reynolds (Labour, Wolverhampton North East)

Mr Dave Watts (Labour, St Helens North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including news items) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the front of this volume.

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral

evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mr Kenneth Fox (Clerk), Mr Philip Aylett (Second Clerk), Adèle Brown (Committee Specialist), Dr Brigid Fowler (Committee Specialist), Ms Zoe Oliver-Watts (Committee Specialist), Mr Richard Dawson (Senior Committee Assistant), Jacqueline Cooksey (Committee Assistant), Vanessa Hallinan (Committee Assistant), and Mr Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6394; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 15 November 2012