Select committee effectiveness, resources and powers - Liaison Committee Contents

Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chair)

The Chair of the following Select Committees are members of the Liaison Committee:

Administration - Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (Conservative, Saffron Walden)

Backbench Business - Natascha Engel MP (Labour, North East Derbyshire)

Business, Innovation and Skills - Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour/Co-op, West Bromwich West)

Communities and Local Government - Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East)

Culture, Media and Sport - Mr John Whittingdale MP (Conservative, Maldon)

Defence - Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Education - Mr Graham Stuart MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)

Energy and Climate Change - Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative, South Suffolk)

Environmental Audit - Joan Walley MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Miss Anne McIntosh MP (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)

European Scrutiny - Mr William Cash MP (Conservative, Stone)

Finance and Services - John Thurso MP (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)

Foreign Affairs - Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Health - Rt Hon Stephen Dorrell MP (Conservative, Charnwood)

Home Affairs - Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)

Human Rights (Joint Committee) - Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon)

International Development - Rt Hon Sir Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat, Gordon)

Justice - Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed)

Northern Ireland Affairs - Mr Laurence Robertson MP (Conservative, Tewkesbury)

Political and Constitutional Reform - Mr Graham Allen MP (Labour, Nottingham North)

Procedure - Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne )

Public Accounts - Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MP (Labour, Barking)

Public Administration - Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Regulatory Reform - Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)

Science and Technology - Andrew Miller MP (Labour, Ellesmere Port and Neston)

Scottish Affairs - Mr Ian Davidson MP (Labour/Co-op, Glasgow South West)

Selection - Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Conservative, The Cotswolds)

Standards and Privileges - Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley)

Statutory Instruments - Mr George Mudie MP (Labour, Leeds East)

Transport - Mrs Louise Ellman MP (Labour/Co-op, Liverpool Riverside)

Treasury - Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)

Welsh Affairs - David T C Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Work and Pensions - Dame Anne Begg MP (Labour, Aberdeen South)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No 145. The Standing Orders are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Andrew Kennon (Clerk), Philippa Helme (Second Clerk), Mark Hutton (Clerk to the National Policy Statements Sub-Committee), Kevin Candy (Senior Committee Assistant) and Susan Ramsay (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5675; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 8 November 2012