Prospects for codifying the relationship between central and local government - Political and Constitutional Reform Contents

List of written evidence from Session 2012-13

(published in Volume III on the Committee's website

1  Professor Colin Copus, De Montford University  Ev w1

2  PG Marshall, Ashfield District Council  Ev w9

3  Cllr Graham Jones, West Berkshire Council  Ev w11

4  Dr Andrew Blick, King's College London  Ev w12

5  Cllr Denise Jeffery, Wakefield Metropolitan Council  Ev w12

6  Association of North East Councils  Ev w13

7  Cllr Bob Price, Oxford City Council  Ev w14

8  Cllr Peter Webb, North Dorset District Council  Ev w14

9  Cllr Peter F Adams, Borough of Poole  Ev w15

10  Oxfordshire County Council  Ev w15

11  Cllr Roderick Bluh, Swindon Borough Council  Ev w16

12  Profs George Jones and John Stewart  Ev w18

13  Chris Himsworth  Ev w23

14  National Association of Local Councils (NALC)  Ev w25

15  Cllr Terry Snow, Mid Devon District Council  Ev w26

16  Cllr Doug Ross, West Somerset District Council  Ev w27

17  The Constitution Society  Ev w27

18  Andrew Muter, Newark and Sherwood District Council  Ev w30

19  SOLACE  Ev w30

20  Howard Thackray, Huntingdonshire District Council  Ev w31

21  Cllr Ray Manning, South Cambridgeshire District Council  Ev w31

22  Cllr Mark Crane, Selby Council  Ev w31

23  Cllr Peter Martin, Essex County Council  Ev w31

24  Cllr Michael White, Havering Borough Council  Ev w32

25  Nigel Slack  Ev w32

26  Mrs Linda Arkley, Mayor of North Tyneside  Ev w33

27  Cllr Jillian Creasy, Sheffield City Council  Ev w35

28  Bruce Lang, West Somerset Council  Ev w35

29  Cllr Gordon Keymer CBE, South East England Councils (SEEC)  Ev w35

30  London Borough of Ealing  Ev w36

31  Chesterfield Borough Council  Ev w36

32  Cllr Mehboob Khan, Kirklees Council  Ev w37

33  Sheffield for Democracy  Ev w38

34  Hartlepool Borough Council  Ev w39

35  Cllr David Hodge, Surrey County Council  Ev w40

36  Dr Catherine Durose, University of Birmingham  Ev w41

37  Adur District Council and Worthing Borough Council  Ev w42

38  Richard Harbord  Ev w44

39  Reading Borough Council  Ev w46

40  Sunderland City Council  Ev w46

41  Angus Campbell, Dorset County Council  Ev w48

42  Cllr Ron Halliday, Wakefield Council  Ev w49

43  Cllr Philip Atkins, Staffordshire County Council  Ev w49

44  National Association of Councillors  Ev w55

45  Bristol City Council  Ev w55

46  Wolverhampton City Council  Ev w56

47  Mark Lloyd, Association of County Chief Executives  Ev w60

48  Cllr Graham Chapman, Nottingham City Council  Ev w60

49  Charlie Adan, Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils  Ev w61

50  Cllr Ruth Dombey, London Borough of Sutton  Ev w63

51  Suffolk County Council  Ev w67

52  Ian Fytche, North Kesteven District Council  Ev w71

53  Tim Gilling, Centre for Public Scrutiny  Ev w71

54  Ruth Marlow, Mansfield District Council  Ev w73

55  Kent County Council  Ev w74

56  Cllr Mike Jones, Cheshire and West Chester Council  Ev w76

57  Durham County Council  Ev w78

58  Lutfur Rahman, Mayor of Tower Hamlets  Ev w79

59  Cllrs John Hart, Brian Greenslade and Saxon Spence, Devon County Council  Ev w80

60  Cllr Geoff Driver, Lancashire County Council  Ev w80

61  Cllr Nicholas Paget-Brown, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea  Ev w82

62  Henry Peterson  Ev w83

63  John Austin, Association of Democratic Services Officers (ADSO)  Ev w87

64  Cllr Ray Nottage, Christchurch Borough Council  Ev w87

65  Sarah Ayres, Senior Lecturer in Policy Studies, University of Bristol  Ev w88

66  Louise Goldsmith, West Sussex County Council  Ev w89

67  Stephen Greasley, University of Exeter  Ev w90

68  Cumbria County Council  Ev w92

69  Cllr Frank Prince, Broxtowe Borough Council  Ev w94

70  Cllr Spencer Flower, East Dorset District Council  Ev w94

71  London Borough of Lambeth  Ev w95

72  Cllr Clarence Barrett, London Borough of Havering  Ev w98

73  Cllr Paul Bayliss, Derby City Council  Ev w98

74  Cllr JR Knight, Ashfield District Council  Ev w99

75  Chris Game, institute of Local Government Studies, University of Birmingham  Ev w99

76  Sir Howard Bernstein, Manchester City Council  Ev w100

77  Plymouth City Council  Ev w101

78  Derbyshire County Council  Ev w102

79  Local Government Association  Ev w104

80  Cllr Sir Albert Bore, Leader, Birmingham City Council  Ev w106

81  Sir Robin Wales, Mayor of Newham  Ev w107

82  Cllr Kay Cutts, Leader, Nottinghamshire County Council  Ev w108

83  John Robinson, Chief Executive, Gedling Borough Council  Ev w108

84  Cllr Keith Wakefield, Leeds City Council  Ev w108

85  Cllr John Shephard, Bassetlaw District Council  Ev w109

86  Tony Pearce  Ev w109

87  John W Healy  Ev w110

88  Graham Benjamin  Ev w110

89  J. D. Budden  Ev w111

90  Dr Nicky Davis  Ev w112

91  2020 Public Services Hub  Ev w113

92  Joel Benjamin, Move Your Money UK  Ev w114

93  Professor Hugh Bochel, University of Lincoln  Ev w115

94  Philip Coleman, Chichester District Council  Ev w116

95  Unlock Democracy  Ev w116

96  Steve Bullock, Mayor of Lewisham  Ev w119

97  Joe Duckworth  Ev w120

98  John Newman  Ev w121

99  Dr Robin Hooper, Eden District Council  Ev w123

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 29 January 2013