Culture, Media and Sport Committee - Third Report
Supporting the creative economy

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 11 September 2013.


Terms of Reference

Conclusions and recommendations

1 Introduction

2 Olympic and Paralympic legacy

3 Intellectual property

4 Funding and finance

5 Tax reliefs

6 Education, skills and training

7 Creative hubs

8 Creative Industries Council

Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence

Tuesday 13 November 2012: Ivan Dunleavy, Chief Executive, and Andrew Smith, Director of Strategy and Communications, Pinewood Shepperton plc; John Mathers, Chief Executive, and Mat Hunter, Chief Design Officer, Design Council

Tuesday 20 November 2012: Alan Davey, Chief Executive, and Dame Liz Forgan, Chair, Arts Council England, and Claire Enders, Enders Analysis; John McVay, Chief Executive, Pact (formerly the Producers Alliance for Cinema and Television)

Tuesday 4 December 2012: Geoff Taylor, Chief Executive, BPI, Jo Dipple, Chief Executive Officer, Andy Heath, Chairman, UK Music, and Alison Wenham, Chief Executive Officer, The Association of Independent Music; Fran Healy, singer songwriter, Steven Levine, record producer, and Stephen Budd, music industry executive

Tuesday 18 December 2012: Patrick Bradley, Director of Ventures, Ingenious, Dr Martin Smith, Special Advisor, Ingenious, and Martin Mills, Chairman, Beggars Group; Simon Milner, UK and Ireland Policy Director, Facebook, and Sarah Hunter, Head of UK Public Policy, Google

Tuesday 8 January 2013: Professor Ian Hargreaves, Professor of Digital Economy, Cardiff University, Richard Hooper, Managing Partner, Hooper Communications, and Peter Jenner, Visiting Professor, University of Hertfordshire and Consultant to the World Intellectual Property Organisation; Professor Stuart Bartholomew, Principal and Vice Chancellor, The Arts University Bournemouth, Professor Geoffrey Crossick, Universities UK, Catherine Large, Chief Executive Officer, Creative and Cultural Skills, and Dinah Caine, Chief Executive Officer, Creative Skillset

Tuesday 22 January 2013: Jeremy Silver, Chairman of Semetric Limited and Lead Specialist on Creative Industries, Technology Strategy Board, Jim Killock, Executive Director, and Peter Bradwell, Policy Director, Open Rights Group; Owen Atkinson, Chief Executive Officer, Authors’ Licensing & Collecting Society Limited (ALCS), Richard Mollet, Chief Executive, Publishers Association and Chair, Alliance for Intellectual Property, and Lavinia Carey, Director General, British Video Association

Tuesday 26 February 2013: Greg Dyke, Chair, and Amanda Nevill, Chief Executive, British Film Institute, Adam Singer, Chairman, British Screen Advisory Council, and Andrew Chowns, Chief Executive, Directors UK: Dr Jo Twist, Chief Executive Officer, Association for UK Interactive Entertainment, Ian Livingstone CBE, Life President, Eidos, Dr Richard Wilson, Chief Executive Officer, and Vincent Scheurer, TIGA

Tuesday 12 March 2013: John Tate, Group Director, Strategic Operations, BBC, Magnus Brooke, Director of Policy and Regulatory Affairs, ITV, and Dan Brooke, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, Channel 4; Adam Minns, Executive Director, Commercial Broadcasters Association, and Adam Kinsley, Director of Policy, BSkyB

Tuesday 26 March 2013: David Arnold, film composer, Sandie Shaw, Chair, Featured Artists Coalition, and Matthew Griffiths, Chief Executive Officer, PLASA; Adam Barker, Director of Business Affairs, Universal Music UK, and Peter Leathem, Chief Executive Officer, PPL

Tuesday 14 May 2013: Mr Edward Vaizey MP, UK Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, Department for Culture, Media and Sport and Viscount Younger of Leckie, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Business Innovation and Skills

Written evidence

Additional written evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 26 September 2013