Energy and Climate Change - Second Report
A Severn Barrage?

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 21 May 2013.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction

2 Transparency and public consultation

3 Costs and value for money

4 Environmental impacts and mitigation

5 Socio-economic impacts

6 Decarbonisation and energy security benefits

7 Barrage technology and alternatives

8 Conclusions


Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

List of unprinted evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence

Tuesday 10 January 2013:Rt Hon Peter Hain MP, British Labour Party, Martin Mansfield, Wales TUC General Secretary and Andy Richards, Wales Secretary, Unite the Union in Wales and President, Wales TUC; Martin Spray CBE, Chief Executive, Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust, Kate Jennings, Head of Site Conservation Policy, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, Dr Simon Pryor, Natural Environment Director, National Trust and Martin Salter, National Campaigns Co-ordinator, The Angling Trust; Simon Bird, Chief Executive, Bristol Port Company, Matthew Kennerley, Associated British Ports Port Director, South Wales and Professor Tim Broyd, Engineering the Future

Wednesday 30 January 2013: Gregory Shenkman, Chairman, Hafren Power Ltd, Anthony Pryor CBE, Chief Executive, Hafren Power Ltd, Ian Gardner, Director, UKMEA Board, Arup, Professor Roger A Falconer, Expert Panel, Hafren Power and CH2M HILL-Halcrow Professor of Water Management, Cardiff University and Andre Karihaloo, Head of Operations, Hafren Power; Andrew Shirley, Chief Surveyor, the Country Land and Business Association, Johnny Gowdy, Programme Director, Regen SW, Rupert Armstrong Evans, Proprietor, Evans Engineering and Power Company Ltd and Vincent de Laleu, Offshore and Marine Engineering, EDF Energy

Thursday 28 February 2013: Ed Mitchell, Director of Environment and Business, Environment Agency, Dr Richard Cresswell MBE, Director South West, Environment Agency and Mike Evans, Strategic Environmental Planning Manager, Environment Agency; Alan Seatter, Deputy Director-General, DG Environment, European Commission; Gregory Barker MP, Minister of State, DECC, Trevor Raggatt, Head of Small Scale and Emerging Renewables and Barbara Garnier Schofield, Head - Marine Energy and Tidal Range

Written evidence

Additional Written Evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 10 June 2013