Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee - Sixth Report
Rural Communities

Here you can browse the report which was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 16 July 2013.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction


2 Rural funding

Local government finance settlement

Retention of business rates

School funding

Healthcare funding

3 Broadband and mobile

The Government's proposals

Beyond 2015

Mobile Infrastructure Project

4 The rural economy


Barriers to growth

Rural Economy Growth Review

Local Enterprise Partnerships

5 Housing


Housing as a ministerial priority

Affordable Homes Programme

Right to Buy

Welfare Reform Act 2012: under-occupancy

Planning and development

Second homes

New Homes Bonus

Help to Buy

Changing demographics

6 Fuel poverty


Energy Company Obligation and the Green Deal

Energy Performance Certificate

Bulk-buying initiatives

7 Rural transport

A strategic policy

Bus services and community transport

Concessionary fares

Wheels to Work

Fuel prices

Reducing car dependency

8 Empowering communities

Community rights

Retaining services

Unequal capacity

9 Rural Communities Policy Unit

Rural proofing


RCPU's priorities

Transparency, accessibility and expertise

10 Conclusion

Conclusions and recommendations

Annex: Defining rural areas

Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence

Wednesday 7 November 2012: Dr Adam Marshall, Director of Policy, British Chambers of Commerce; and Paul Johnson, Chair, Swindon and Wiltshire Local Enterprise Partnership; Gillian Elliott, Acting Assistant Director, Economic Development, Cumbria County Council; Helen Wright, Rural Policy and Partnerships Manager, East Riding of Yorkshire Council; and Councillor Keith House, Deputy Chair, Environment and Housing Board, Local Government Association

Wednesday 28 November 2012: George Dunn, Chief Executive, Tenant Farmers Association; Harry Cotterell, President, Country Land and Business Association; and David Collier, Chief Rural Affairs Adviser, National Farmers Union: John Moore, Chief Executive, Nynet; and Malcolm Corbett, Chief Executive, Independent Networks Cooperative Association; Mr Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, and Dr Rob Sullivan, Chief Executive, Broadband Delivery UK (BDUK), Department for Culture Media and Sport

Wednesday 12 December 2012: Holly Sims, Corporate Affairs Manager, Calor Gas Limited; John Slaughter, Director of External Affairs, Home Builders Federation; Graham Biggs MBE, Chief Executive, Rural Services Network; and Sue Chalkley, Chief Executive, Hastoe Housing Association

Wednesday 9 January 2013: Tony Gates, Chief Executive, Northumberland National Park Authority; Paul Hamblin, Director, English National Park Authorities Association; and Neil Sinden, Policy and Campaigns Director, Campaign to Protect Rural England; Councillor Roger Begy OBE, Leader of Rutland County Council and Chairman of the Rural Services Network; and Sonia Mangan, Chief Officer, Age UK South Lakeland

Wednesday 16 January 2013: Keith Halstead, Chief Executive, Community Transport Association; Mike Perry, Head of Communication, Plunkett Foundation; and Professor Mark Shucksmith OBE, Director, Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal, Newcastle University; Rural Communities

Tuesday 29 January 2013: Richard Benyon MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Natural Environment, Water and Rural Affairs, and Sara Eppel, Head, Rural Communities Policy Unit, Defra

Written evidence

Additional written evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 24 July 2013