The application of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights in the UK: a state of confusion - European Scrutiny Committee Contents

The European Scrutiny Committee

The European Scrutiny Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 143 to

examine European Union documents.

Current membership

Mr William Cash MP (Conservative, Stone) (Chair)

Andrew Bingham MP (Conservative, High Peak)

Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Michael Connarty MP (Labour, Linlithgow and East Falkirk)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour/Cooperative, Swansea West)

Julie Elliott MP (Labour, Sunderland Central)

Stephen Gilbert MP (Liberal Democrat, St Austell and Newquay)

Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)

Chris Heaton-Harris MP (Conservative, Daventry)

Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Chris Kelly MP (Conservative, Dudley South)

Stephen Phillips MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Mrs Linda Riordan MP (Labour/Cooperative, Halifax)

Henry Smith MP (Conservative, Crawley)

Mr Mike Thornton MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)

The following members were also members of the committee during the


Tim Farron MP (Westmorland and Lonsdale)

Ian Swales MP (Liberal Democrat, Redcar)

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Jim Dobbin MP (Labour/Co-op, Heywood and Middleton)

Penny Mordaunt MP (Conservative, Portsmouth North)

Mr Joe Benton MP (Labour, Bootle)


The committee's powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No

143. The scrutiny reserve resolution, passed by the House, provides that Ministers

should not give agreement to EU proposals which have not been cleared by the

European Scrutiny Committee, or on which, when they have been recommended

by the Committee for debate, the House has not yet agreed a resolution. The

scrutiny reserve resolution is printed with the House's Standing Orders, which

are available at

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee are Sarah Davies (Clerk), David Griffiths (Clerk

Adviser), Terry Byrne (Clerk Adviser), Leigh Gibson (Clerk Adviser), Peter

Harborne (Clerk Adviser), Paul Hardy (Legal Adviser) (Counsel for European

Legislation), Joanne Dee (Assistant Legal Adviser) (Assistant Counsel for

European Legislation), Hannah Finer (Assistant to the Clerk), Julie Evans (Senior

Committee Assistant), Jane Lauder (Committee Assistant), Beatrice Woods

(Committee Assistant), Paula Saunderson and Ravi Abhayaratne (Office Support Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Scrutiny

Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone

number for general enquiries is (020) 7219 3292/5465. The Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 2 April 2014