Home Affairs Committee - Sixteenth Report
Police and Crime Commissioners: progress to date

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 30 April 2014.


Terms of Reference

1 Introduction

2 The work of commissioners to date

3 The relationship between commissioners and chief constables

4 Scrutiny of commissioners by police and crime panels

Annex: Register of police and crime commissioners' disclosable interests

Conclusions and recommendations

Formal Minutes


Published written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral evidence

Tuesday 26 November 2013: Ron Ball, Police and Crime Commissioner for Warwickshire, Sir Graham Bright, Police and Crime Commissioner for Cambridgeshire, and Tony Lloyd, Police and Crime Commissioner for Greater Manchester and Chairman, Association of Police and Crime Commissioners; Sir Hugh Orde, President, and Sir Peter Fahy, Vice President, Association of Chief Police Officers, and Chief Constable Colette Paul, Bedfordshire Police

Tuesday 7 January 2014: Katy Bourne, Police and Crime Commissioner for Sussex, and Anthony Stansfeld, Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley; Chief Constable Martin Richards QPM, Sussex Police, and Chief Constable Sara Thornton CBE QPM, Thames Valley Police; Lord Stevens and Professor Ian Loader, Independent Police Commission

Tuesday, 21 January 2014: Max Chambers, Policy Exchange, Jon Collins, Police Foundation, and Bernard Rix, CoPaCC (Comparing Police and Crime Commissioners); Lord Wasserman; Bob Jones, Police and Crime Commissioner for the West Midlands, Chief Constable Chris Sims QPM, West Midlands Police, Sue Mountstevens, Police and Crime Commissioner for Avon and Somerset, and Chief Constable Nick Gargan QPM, Avon and Somerset Police

Tuesday, 4 February 2014: Cllr Joanna Spicer, Local Government Association, and Ed Hammond, Centre for Public Scrutiny; Cllr Alison Lowe, Chair, West Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel, Cllr Dorothy Ross-Tomlin, Chair, Surrey Police and Crime Panel, and Cllr Roger Seabourne, former member of Hertfordshire Police and Crime Panel Ev 78Steve Williams, Chair, and Steve White, Vice-Chair, Police Federation

Tuesday, 25 February 2014: Ann Barnes, Police and Crime Commissioner for Kent, and Chief Constable Alan Pughsley, Kent Police; Rt Hon Damian Green MP, Minister of State for Policing, Criminal Justice and Victims

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 5 May 2014