Serious Fraud Office Supplementary Estimate 2013-14 - Justice Committee Contents

The Justice Committee

The Justice Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Justice and its associated public bodies (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments, and excluding the work of the Scotland and Wales Offices and of the Advocate General for Scotland); and administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chair)

Steve Brine (Conservative, Winchester)

Rehman Chishti (Conservative, Gillingham and Rainham)

Christopher Chope (Conservative, Christchurch)

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour, Islington North)

John Cryer(Labour, Leyton and Wanstead)

Nick de Bois (Conservative, Enfield North)

Gareth Johnson (Conservative, Dartford)

Rt Hon Elfyn Llwyd (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)

Andy McDonald (Labour, Middlesbrough)

John McDonnell (Labour, Hayes and Harlington)

Yasmin Qureshi (Labour, Bolton South East)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Mr Robert Buckland (Conservative, South Swindon); Christopher Evans (Labour/Co-operative, Islwyn); Mrs Helen Grant (Conservative, Maidstone and The Weald); Ben Gummer (Conservative, Ipswich); Mrs Siân C James (Labour, Swansea East); Jessica Lee (Conservative, Erewash); Seema Malhotra (Labour/Co-operative, Feltham and Heston)Robert Neill (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst); Claire Perry (Conservative, Devizes); Mrs Linda Riordan (Labour/Co-operative, Halifax), Anna Soubry (Conservative, Broxtowe); Graham Stringer (Labour, Blackley and Broughton); Elizabeth Truss (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Karl Turner (Labour, Kingston upon Hull East), and Mike Weatherley(Conservative, Hove).


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Nick Walker (Clerk), Gemma Buckland (Senior Committee Specialist), Claire Morley (Committee Legal Specialist), Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Committee Assistant), Holly Knowles (Committee Support Assistant), Katia Krotova (Sandwich Student), and Nick Davies (Committee Media Officer).


Correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Justice Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196 and the email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 28 February 2014