Private Members' bills: Government response and revised proposals - Procedure Committee Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne) (Chair)

Jenny Chapman MP (Labour, Darlington)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)

Thomas Docherty MP (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Yvonne Fovargue (Labour, Makerfield)

Sir Roger Gale MP (Conservative, North Thanet)

Mr James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Tom Greatrex MP (Lab/Co-op, Rutherglen and Hamilton West)

John Hemming MP (Liberal Democrat, Birmingham Yardley)

Mr David Nuttall MP (Conservative, Bury North)  

Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Martin Vickers MP (Conservative, Cleethorpes)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Rt Hon Greg Knight MP (Conservative, Yorkshire East) (Chair until 6 September 2012)

Karen Bradley MP (Conservative, Staffordshire Moorlands)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Andrew Percy MP (Conservative, Brigg and Goole)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Angela Smith MP (Labour, Penistone and Stocksbridge)

Sir Peter Soulsby MP (Labour, Leicester South)

Mike Wood MP (Labour, Batley and Spen)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 147. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Huw Yardley (Clerk), Margaret McKinnon (Second Clerk) and Jim Camp (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 31 March 2014