Procedure Committee - Second Report
Private Members' bills

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 10 July 2013.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction

2 Purposes and problems

3 Ensuring the process is an opportunity for private Members

4 Increasing transparency

5 Other changes

6 Conclusion

Conclusions and recommendations

Formal Minutes

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence - HC 188-II

Wednesday 28 November 2012: Professor the Lord Norton of Louth, Professor of Government, University of Hull, and Dr Ruth Fox, Director of the Parliament and Government Programme, Hansard Society

Wednesday 19 December 2012: Mr Christopher Chope MP, Philip Davies MP and Rebecca Harris MP

Wednesday 16 January 2013: Thomas Docherty MP, Charlie Elphicke MP and Ben Gummer MP

Wednesday 30 January 2013: Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP, Chris Bryant MP and Martin Horwood MP; Mr David Hamilton MP, Barbara Keeley MP and Dr Thérèse Coffey MP

Wednesday 27 February 2013: Dr Rowena Daw, Royal College of Psychiatrists, and Tom Mullarkey, Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents

Wednesday 6 March 2013: David Natzler, Clerk Assistant, Simon Patrick, Clerk of Bills, and Kate Emms, Clerk of Private Members' Bills

Wednesday 13 March 2013: Ms Angela Eagle MP, Shadow Leader of the House; Rt Hon Mr Andrew Lansley MP, Leader of the House

Written evidence

Additional written evidence (unprinted)

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 2 September 2013